"Students and researchers now have greater access to primary source
materials for historical research than ever before. The traditional use
of sources available in print and microfilm continues to be the
foundation for research, but in some cases documents, letters, maps,
photographs of ancient artifacts and other primary material are
available online in different formats from free websites or subscription
services on the internet. Users of primary sources have always needed
to examine their sources critically, but now with the proliferation of
electronic resources from a wide variety of web site producers,
evaluation is more important than ever before. Users of web resources
must now consider the authenticity of documents, what person or
organization is the internet provider, and whether the electronic
version serves their needs. This brief guide is designed to provide
students and researchers with information to help them evaluate the
internet sources and the quality of primary materials that can be found
online."
Contains archival materials in many areas including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Women's Studies, Black Studies
ProQuest History Vault is an archival resource in progress. When complete, this database will contain 25+ modules of archival content covering many areas, including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more. This resource includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Denison currently has access to the following modules:
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Organizational Records, & Personal Papers
- NAACP: Major Campaigns, Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, & National Staff Files
- Slavery and the Law (1775-1867)
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960-1975)
- World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees (1920-1983)
Format: Full Text
Database Producer: ProQuest
Digitized, primary source collections of the nineteenth century focused on Asia, England, and Europe. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
"Nineteenth Century Collections Online" is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. When completed, this collection will be comprised of numerous sub-collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types -- monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more -- in one cross-searchable interface.
Currently includes 12 collections: - Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange - British Politics and Society - British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - Children's Literature and Childhood - Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest - European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection - Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature - Photography: The World through the Lens - Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform - Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 - Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II - Women: Transnational Networks
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1769-1925 Database Producer: Gale
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events
Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present
Provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's & Gender Studies
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage:19-20th centuries Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Contains published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
When completed, this database will contain published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1840-present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
- Messages & Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1913
- The Public Papers of the Presidents: 1929-2007 & 2010
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: 2009-2012
Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
The Atlanta Constitution gives a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history -- post-Civil War reconstruction.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication
The Atlanta Constitution gives todays researchers a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction.
This is an ideal primary resource for studying the feelings and reactions of Southerners on the passage of the 14th Amendment, the purging of Rebels from the legislature, the givingthen denyingof the right to vote to former slaves, and the passing of economic policies that changed the South and the United States forever.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1868-1984
Database Producer: ProQuest
Part of America's Historical Newspapers, this collection covers American newspapers from 1690-1922.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History
Early American Newspapers covers American newspapers through 13 distinct collections, listed below.
Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th and Early 19th Century America. This collection includes 730 titles listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, the History and Bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820 and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic: Early-to-Mid 19th Century newspapers. This collection includes 290 titles focusing on the period between 1820 and 1860.
Series 3, 1829-1922: From Farm to City: Mid-to-Late 19th Century Newspapers. This collection of 160 titles focuses on the period between 1861 and 1900, including the Civil War, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, and the Progressive Era.
Series 4, 1757-1922: The Rise of Industry: Popular Press Coverage of the Nation's Economic Boom. This collection of 150 titles includes The Liberator, the New Orleans Daily Creole which was the first African-American newspapers in America, the Springfield Republican, the Gaceta de Texas which was the first newspaper in Texas, the New York Herald, and the Charleston Courier.
Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging Wold Power: Late 19th and Early 20th Century Newspapers. This collection of 150 titles includes the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass, the Steamer Pacific News which was a nationally popular publication covering the Gold Rush, Hokubei Jiji (The North American) which was the first Japanese-language newspaper in the Pacific Northwest, and the Nevada Territorial Enterprise where Mark Twain worked.
Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion: National Debates of the Mid-19th Century. This collection of 180 titles includes the Detroit Plain Dealer, which was Detroit's first successful black newspaper, The Colored American, which provided detailed coverage of the Amistad revolt, Argus of Western America, which was an early Kentucky paper and a strong supporter of Andrew Jackson, and the Arkansas Gazette which was one of the first newspapers published west of the Mississippi.
Series 7: 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment: The Rise of the 19th Century Independent Press. This collection of 170 titles includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune, which was established in 1837, and The Oregonian, which was founded in 1850. Also included here are the Courier de la Louisiane, a bilingual Creole title, Frederick Douglass Paper, the successor to the influential North Star, which was the title that marked the beginning of a separate black press, the California Farmer and Journal of Useful Sciences, a pioneer of early natural history writing, the Charleston Mercury, a strong supporter of slavery, the Savannah Republican, one of the few Southern newspapers that published throughout the Civil War, and the Southern Illustrated News.
Series 8, 1844-1922: A Nation in Transition: The Rise of the Metropolitan Daily. This collection includes the Baton Rouge Advocate, the Charleston's News and Courier, Washington, D.C.'s Daily Union, an unparalleled example of political influence in the press, and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, the most popular illustrated publication of its era.
Series 9, 1832-1922: Protest and Prosperity: Newspapers in the Age of the City. This collection includes significant 19th century newspapers which chronicle the Jacksonian Era, the war with Mexico and Western expansion, the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Series 10, 1730-1900: Regional Pioneers: Founding Newspapers from Every American Region. This collection of 440 titles provides insight into the Colonial and Revolutionary War eras and offers new material on Westward expansion and the Early National era.
Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power: Newspapers Struggle for Regional Dominance. This collection of 130 titles extends the political and geographical breadth and depth of the ten previous series. Series 11 includes more successful newspapers that survived after less-popular titles died out. Also included are elusive runs of especially noteworthy newspapers.
Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press: Political, Business and Religious Newspapers of the 19th Century. This collection includes over 1,200 titles spanning 49 states and the District of Columbia. This series provides access to agricultural, campaign, denominational and mercantile newspapers as well as hundreds of short-lived newspapers.
Series 13, 1803-1916: The American West. This collection of 2,500 titles represents the largest online collection of 19th Century newspapers from the American West. Published in the 24 states west of the Mississippi, this series also includes a number of newspaper titles published east of the Mississippi for political and economic context.
Series 14, 1807-1880: The Expansion of Urban America, Daily life in the metropolis. This collection includes notable 19th-century newspapers from urban centers, and includes long runs of 48 major titles. These titles have been selected to reflect new forms of journalism that emerged during this time period.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1690-1922 Update Schedule: Irregular Database Distributor: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
This archival collection covers newspapers published by the KKK during its peak in the 1920's.
Subjects: History, Black Studies, Political Science
In the 1920's, the KKK re-emerged with a great deal of successful marketing strategies, employing a national newspaper, the Imperial Night-Hawk, as well as local newspapers throughout the U.S.
This online, archival collection contains over 546 issues and almost 5,000 pages from these newspapers and offers a glimpse into the workings of this organization.
The Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during its period of greatest popularity.
This collection also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1920s Update Schedule: Continuously Updated Database Distributor: Reveal Digital
A collection of publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1845 - 2015
Database Distributor: Proquest
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Advanced searching capabilities will enable researchers to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Presents issues from a Northwestern perspective, including westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, the San Francisco Chronicle lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, Americas entry into World War I, and many other events that shaped both the City by the Bay and the United States.
During its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more.
Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicles pagessome without benefit of a bylineduring the early years. To trace San Franciscos history from a muddy frontier town full of pistol-packing pioneers and corrupt politicians, through its entry into the Roaring 20s, start here.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1865-1922
Database Producer: ProQuest
Images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, General
American Periodicals, 1740-1940, contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text.
Denison patrons have access to the following collections within this resource:
- American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
- American Periodicals Series
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1740-1940
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: Proquest
Women's history materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages, 1543-1945.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1543-1945
Database Producer: ProQuest
Full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held womens periodicals produced from the late Eighteenth century through the early 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, Social History, Women's Studies
Historical womens periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for womens rightswoman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for examplegrew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for womens periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1786-1933 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
Indexes and abstracts the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, 1983 to present. keywords: current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Mass Media, Current Events
Readers' Guide Abstracts, produced by the H. W. Wilson Company, contains comprehensive indexing and abstracting for more than 300 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Coverage for this database spans from 1983 to the present.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1983- Database Producer: EBSCOhost/H.W. Wilson.
Indexes and abstracts the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, 1890-1982 . keywords: current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Mass Media, Current Events
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes and abstracts the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada from 1890-1982.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1890-1982 Database Producer: EBSCOhost/H.W. Wilson.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
