Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
This collection, sourced from the Bodleian Library, features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This online resource spans the years 1672 to 1737, and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource includes U.S. newspaper content from 1978 to the present. This link will take you directly to the Ohio newspaper section. Please note, this database is available on a trial basis to the Denison community from May 1st - June 1st, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This collection concerns free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics and complements the modules in the Making of Modern Law series. This resource includes newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This database covers economic, military, political and social aspects of the Civil War, and includes coverage throughout the war and into the postwar period. Please note, this resource is available on a trial basis to the Denison community from April 24th - May 27th, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Spanning the decades between 1967 and 2005, this collection contains wire copy (original news reports) in both English and Arabic and includes information on conflicts in the area, particularly the Lebanese Civil War (1975-90), the 1967 Arab-Israeli War (The Six Day War) and the U.S. war in Iraq (2003). Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 5,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Beck and Hart International Law Imprints. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Sourced from the Oliveira Lima Library, considered to be the finest collection of Luso-Brazillian material available, this resource turns the spotlight on South American during the long nineteenth century. This collection covers topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource is a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors, containing poems, plays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, and other papers from major library collections. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This version of the C19 Index trial contains links to demonstrate all of the linking to full text in American Periodicals Series, Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text) and House of Commons Parliamentary Papers that is currently available. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This collection documents the thoughts of Chinese intellectuals, Western missionaries, and diplomats about China, as well as their efforts to understand Chinese culture and transform the nation in the years before 1949. This resource contains missionary, academic, and literary periodicals in English published in or about China. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
The definitive resource for those wishing to study the Winston S. Churchill Papers, digitized and presented to the world online exclusively in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, Cambridge College, England. Containing nearly 800,000 documents produced between the years of 1874 and 1965, the platform allows students and researchers to track the important events and figures of the Churchill era with a detailed taxonomy and pedagogical materials. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This collection consists of original correspondence in the colonies from 1606 to 1822, covering early settlement in America through the American Revolution. Please note this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis through May 30th. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This collection presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. It includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Offers access to a vast body of original British source material, helpful in giving a gendered perspective to history, literature, sociology, and education studies. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Offering more than 150,000 e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This collection, an online version of the Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library, contains every British play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824. Hundreds of documents providing social context, such as playbills, correspondence, set designs and actor portraits, as well as financial and legal documents are included. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource offers the most comprehensive, annotated collection of documents on British history, covering the years 500 to 1914, and including around 5,500 primary sources, all selected by leading historians. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus only, from May 22 - June 23, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This high-impact collection includes over 17,000 chapters from over 1,100 ebook titles published by 11 earth science publishers. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource provides access to an expertly curated collection of primary and secondary sources relating to the long Nineteenth Century of Feminism (1776-1928). Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus only, from May 22 - June 23, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. These collections include diverse manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, as well as materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This online resource, pulled from one of the finest literary research collections in the world, covers a broad range of Victorian authors. Most of these manuscripts are unavailable elsewhere. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis through May 30th, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource offers access to facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse, held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. These manuscripts can be explored using the BCMSV database,which includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems in the collection. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This collection brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London. From salacious "swell's guides" to broadsides and subversive posters, this resource offers insight into the underworld of the city. Children's chapbooks, street cries, slang dictionaries, and ballads are part of this street literature. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This online collection provides access to the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries (1943-1970), a highly influential think tank. Topics include racial segregation, discrimination, the civil rights movement, and racial theory in America. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Online resource containing the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust. This collection covers the Romantic period and offers access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts, and correspondence of William Wordsworth and fellow writers -- including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey, and Robert Southey. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Contains unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, DC. These prompt books describe key performances in Great Britain and the United States, between the 17th and 20th centuries. This resource also contains curated case studies built around 17 selected performances with supplementary materials. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource allows researchers to look behind the glass of the world's largest museum and research complex, and includes content that was previously only available onsite at the Smithsonian. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This unique resource delivers primary sources that tell the story of U.S. and international aircraft. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This unique resource brings together critical and hard to find materials, sourced from the Smithsonian archives and Gale's digital collections. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Consisting of primary source materials gathered by the South Asia Research Foundation, this resource offers an interdisciplinary look at colonial and early post-colonial India. This online archive includes both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus only, from May 22 - June 23, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
New
Online collection of English government documents from the 16th and 17th centuries. Keyword: monarchy
Trial
State Papers Online (SPO) is an on-going program digitizing State Papers. By linking the original manuscripts to their calendar or catalogue entries, SPO is a helpful index and full-text source for early modern research and teaching. Denison currently has access to several SPO collections, and this trial of the 18th Century, Part 3 collection covers The Stuarts: James I to Anne I, 1603-1714. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource covers domestic consumerism, focusing on life and leisure in America from 1850-1950. These highly illustrated, primary source documents showcase products and services advertised for consumers and wholesalers. This collection provides a visual record for the study of social history, business and marketing, the role of women, consumerism, mass production, and purchasing power. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource offers a window into 19th and 20th century travel writing, as it documents travel to British, French, Chinese, and American destinations through the writing of women. Themes within this collection include empire, tourism, war, politics, cultural history, nature, the environment, and spiritual enlightenment. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
This resource, formerly known as the Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, this resource provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, this collection presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 31, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
New
Online archive of the leading women's interest magazines, from the late 19th century through 2005.
Trial
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines, covering the late 19th-century through 2005. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, from May 22, 2017, to June 21, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, on campus, through June 15, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Trial
Pulling from collections around the world, this resource covers events known as "World's Fairs" or "Expos." Primary source documents cover more than 100 European, North American, and International Fairs, including the Crystal Palace "Great Exhibition" of 1851 and the Milan EXPO 2015. This resource includes administrative records, photographs, maps, and ephemera. Please note, this resource is available to the Denison community on a trial basis, through May 30, 2017. Feel free to share your feedback with your Library Liaison.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

Denison University Libraries, 400 West Loop, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer