Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

 

Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at circdesk@denison.edu or Reference Desk at reference@denison.edu.

Medieval Manuscripts

Introduction to Medieval Manuscripts

Denison's Archives and Special Collections department is home to a collection of medieval books, manuscripts and manuscript leaves.  The purpose of this LibGuide is to inform students not only about the collection at Denison, but also about medieval manuscripts in general. 

What is a manuscript?  A manuscript is a book written and produced by hand.  The printing press was not invented until the 15th century, so prior to that time all books were manuscripts.  Denison also has a collection of early printed books, for more information on that collection please contact the Archives and Special Collections department.

A manuscript leaf is an individual page that has been removed from a manuscript. 

This guide brings together key resources for the study of medieval manuscripts.  Use the tabs to find further information about each topic.

Blogs-Links to the medieval manuscript blog at the British Library, which is regularly updated with information about their digital collection and other activities at the library.

Books/Catalog Items-These items are all available through either Consort or OhioLink and provide more in depth history about medieval manuscripts.

Databases-These are databases that Denison subscribes to that focus specifically on medieval manuscripts and early English writing. 

Digital Images-Links to a number of online collections of medieval manuscripts, including two links to Denison's own collections.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries-Reference materials on the Middle Ages in Europe.

Websites-Provide general information about medieval manuscripts including their history and how they were made.

Videos-These videos show how manuscripts were made and explain how manuscripts can be used to learn the history of the Middle Ages.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer