It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or Reference Desk at email@example.com.
The Denison University Archives & Special Collections has created an online display of 72 medieval manuscript leaves images. Use the search box below to find specific manuscripts using keywords like "book of hours" or "antiphonal." To browse all of the images, click here.
The Denison University Archives and Special Collections is home to a collection of 72 medieval manuscript leaves. These leaves date from the 1200s to the early 1600s. The collection includes a nearly complete set of Otto Ege's Fifty Original Leaves from Medieval Manuscripts as well as other examples.
In late 1940s, Cleveland resident and art historian Otto F. Ege selected fifty medieval manuscripts from his personal collection and removed several dozen individual pages from each one. He mounted each leaf onto a large paper mat using tape hinges, and added a descriptive label to the mat.
He then put one leaf from each of the fifty component manuscripts into a durable portfolio box; each of the resulting boxed sets thus contained a different leaf from each of the fifty original manuscripts. Forty boxes containing fifty leaves each were made in this way, and were offered for sale to university and public libraries around North America.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer