LibGuides: AHVC 201: Classical Art & Architecture: Articles

Start Here!

Art Full Text (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Cites reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Indexing coverage begins 1984.
Abstracting coverage begins January 1994.
Full-text coverage begins 1997.

See Art Index Retrospective for earlier content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes art literature (1929-1984) covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

See Art Full Text for more recent content.

Format: Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Database Distributor: EBSCO
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.

Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.

Open-Access Online Journals

Selection of quality, freely available e-journals covering art history.

Greek, Roman, and Byzantine Studies is a peer-reviewed journal about the culture and history of Greece and aspects of the Hellenic era.

RIHA Journal contains scholarly articles on all aspects of art history and visual culture.

Different Visions is a scholarly e-journal about medieval arts.

Technical Bulletin from The National Gallery focuses on the history of painting.

Tate Papers is publishes scholarly articles on work related to the Tate collection.

Journal of Art Historiography is an open-access e-journal about art history and archaeology.

Also Try...

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Index of arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected items from leading science and social sciences journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Art, Asian Studies, Cinema, Classics, Dance, Black Studies, English, French, German, U.S. History, History, International Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Music, Philosophy, Queer Studies, Religion, Spanish, Theatre, Women's Studies

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading science and social sciences journals.

ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Film, Radio, Television. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Religion. Theater.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters Scientific / Clarivate
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English, History, U.S. History, General

Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

The Museum of Classical Antiquities
This is a journal from the 1800s now available online.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
New York Times articles, from 1851 to three years ago.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, U.S. History

Full page images of the New York Times newspaper, dating from 1851 to three years ago.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of The Times of London. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, History, Political Science, Theatre

The complete digital edition of The Times (London), 1785 to 2019.

Search using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

The entire weekday newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

For more coverage, see also the "Sunday Times (London), 1822-2016."

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Database Producer: Gale