Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Bibliographic info, abstracts, & references of leading scholarly science & tech journals.
Curated with care by an expert team of in-house Web of Science™ Editors, the Web of Science Core Collection™ allows you to search with confidence and explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the Web of Science platform and the world’s original citation index for scientific and scholarly research.
A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.
Subject Areas: General
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.
This database includes:Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), Book Citation Index (BKCI), Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1945-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters.
If you need more depth try our Subject-specific Databases:
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine
Information on health topics including medical sciences; nutrition; adults, seniors, & pediatrics; behavioral health; drug information; women's health; & sports medicine. Keywords: medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary. This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.
This database contains over 282,000 records from over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Only available on EBSCOhost®, 45,000 of the records are provided via a digitized backfile to Volume One of the print index. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year. For the first time, all of the bibliographic records in IPSA are now available online back to Volume One, exclusively on EBSCOhost®. This marks the first time that researchers can access IPSA records as far back as 1951. A previous backfile enhancement provided by IPSA records back to 1975, which means that now, EBSCOhost® users have access to all 60 years of IPSA records.
IPSA has provided non-evaluative abstracts in the fields of political science since 1951. Its articles are published in journals and yearbooks all over the world, including the major political science journals.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1951-
Database Producer: International Political Science Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education
CINAHL Plus with full text provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL provides access to over 700 full text journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1937 - Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Cinahl Information Systems / Distributed by EBSCO
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies
Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
