Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Faculty Toolkit: Instructional Support

Help navigating Denison Libraries for new and continuing faculty members.

Information Literacy Instruction Sessions

Information Literacy is an equity issue and an equalizer. Let's work together to provide Denison students with the tools they need to become "discerning moral agents."

To schedule a session for your students: 

  • Please contact the appropriate librarian at least two weeks in advance to ensure the availability of a librarian, access to an instruction room, and prep time.   
  • Please submit a copy of your syllabus/class schedule and assignment at the time of your request. Provide at least two date choices and choose time windows during your regular class or discussion section meeting times.  We will use that info to help schedule.
  • It's helpful to schedule a session in conjunction with a research assignment. Likewise, it's best if students have chosen their topics before the session.
  • Due to the specialized nature of University Archives & Special Collections classroom sessions, contact Sasha Griffin if you would like assistance in crafting a fun session with archival literacy instruction. Sasha can help brainstorm ideas, create archival literacy goals, and work within any class or faculty timeline.

Course Reserves

Teaching with Archives and Special Collections

The University Archives & Special Collections offer unique opportunities for your teaching and research, especially as they relate to primary resources. The Archives hold records of the history of Denison. Special Collections includes 'Zines, Artists Books, medieval manuscript leaves, and many other gems. Find out more about our collections here.

Request a Purchase

To request a purchase of books or other instructional materials, please reach out to your Liaison Librarian or use this form

Personal Librarian Program (PLP)

The Denison Libraries provide personalized service to our First Year undergraduates. Our subject librarians have extensive knowledge about how information is organized and the best tools for locating, identifying, and acquiring the sources your students need. 

Our Personal Librarians program reaches out to all First Year students. Each student will receive regular (typically monthly) e-mails from their assigned librarian with news about our resources, suggestions on using our services, and other relevant topics. The Personal Librarian is also available for one-on-one consultations to help with specific class assignments or general questions about using the library.

LibGuides for your students/classes

Teaching with Films and Videos

In addition to the films in our physical collection, we have film databases that offer streaming video for all disciplines. We can even purchase films to stream to our campus community. Try the Summon Search widget below to explore our video collection. If you can't find what you're looking for, please reach out to your Liaison Librarian

Use the Summon Search Widget, below, to search our collection of DVDs and streaming films

Affordable teaching resources

If you would like to use journal articles from databases produced by EBSCO (such as Academic Search Complete), look for the "permalink" to the article when you see the article displayed (usually on the right-hand side, under "Tools"). Other sources, such as JSTOR and the OhioLINK Electronic Journals Collection, make it easy to use the link that appears in the URL box when the article is displayed. Denison librarians are happy to help you find the best, reusable links. Browse and search over 500 databases

Most of our e-books can be found via the Consort catalog. For a list of some of our largest collections, see this e-books link. 
Find almost 50,000 Project Muse books here, too.

Want to show a video or clip? Try Kanopy, an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Open Educational Resources (OERs) still fall within copyright. The creator of an OER needs to ensure that it does not violate the copyright law. We suggest that if a work meets one of the following criteria, it can be included in an OER :

  • The work is in the public domain
  • The author/organization producing the work is the rightsholder.
  • The work can be reused under the terms of its license, e.g. Open Access (OA) works, Creative Commons (CC) works
  • The use of the work could be considered a fair use under US copyright law
  • Permission is obtained to reuse the work in an OER
  • A license is obtained to include the work in an OER

(This content is from Carla Myers's presentation at the Miami University Libraries Copyright Conference, September 20, 2017.) Please note: The information provided here is not legal advice. If you have a legal question, you should speak with an attorney.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer