It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or Reference Desk at email@example.com.
Judicial Branch (Supreme Court and other federal courts)
This site, maintained by Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute, offers Supreme Court decisions from the early court through the present; searchable by topic, author (i.e. justice who wrote the opinion), and party (to the case).
Note: Coverage prior to 1990 may not be complete for all times or topics
This is the only currently accepted "official" version of the Supreme Court decisions. According to the Supreme Court "In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here (on their web site)--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."
"The Federal Judges Biographical Database provides information about all judges who have served on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court and other life-tenured courts since 1789.
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
From the Free Law Project, CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts; also includes the RECAP Archive, a database of millions of dockets and documents filed in federal court cases.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer