"This site includes an overview of the U.S. Supreme Court, information about recent court opinions, court rules, dockets, and a copy of the U.S. Constitution."
This site, maintained by Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute, offers Supreme Court decisions from the early court through the present; searchable by topic, author (i.e. justice who wrote the opinion), and party (to the case).
Note: Coverage prior to 1990 may not be complete for all times or topics
A rich resource for researchers, the Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2013 terms.
This is the only currently accepted "official" version of the Supreme Court decisions. According to the Supreme Court "In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here (on their web site)--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."
Through the Library of Congress, more than 35,000 Supreme Court decisions published in the printed, bound editions of the U.S. Reports are now publicly available online in a page image format.
"The Federal Judges Biographical Database provides information about all judges who have served on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court and other life-tenured courts since 1789.
"The History of the Federal Judiciary presents basic reference information about the history of the federal courts and the judges who have served on the federal courts since 1789 "
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
From the Free Law Project, CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts; also includes the RECAP Archive, a database of millions of dockets and documents filed in federal court cases.
Includes a variety of legal resources, including access to U.S. Supreme Court decisions.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
