LibGuides: Health, Exercise & Sport Studies Guide: Topic Overviews

Resources

These resources (mostly books, whether hard-copy or electronic) provide background information on people, terms and concepts.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport (4 Volumes) by David Levinson; Karen Christensen
Call Number: GV567 .B48 2005
ISBN: 0974309117
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Covers the whole world of sport, from major professional sports and sporting events to community and youth sport, as well as the business of sports and key social issues--Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Education (electronic resource) by James W. Guthrie (Editor)
ISBN: 0028655958
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
"The first edition, published in 1971, served for the past three decades as the most comprehensive reference source on education. The revised version proves a worthy successor. Its eight volumes contain over 850 articles written or reworked by more than 1,000 contributors. Nearly every article has been completely rewritten, with many new topics added. The six appendixes include information on achievement tests, state departments of education, legislation and court cases important to the field of education, and a 138-page index."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.
The Encyclopedia of North American Sports History by Ralph Hickok
Call Number: GV567 .H518 2002
ISBN: 0816046603
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
Arranged alphabetically, this encyclopaedia contains entries on sports history in North America. Topics covered include modern and obsolete sports; topics of historical interest; key people; social issues and sport; major awards and records; cities, stadiums and arenas; halls of fame; and more.
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Elizabeth H. Oakes; Connie Lebrun (Foreword by)
Call Number: RC1206 .O355 2005
ISBN: 0816053340
Publication Date: 2004-10-31
The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine delivers more than 150 in-depth, A-to-Z entries that define and explain the many fields of specialization within sports medicine while providing broad coverage of the terms relevant to each discipline. Using everyday language, basic descriptions of various sports medicine terms introduce the reader to many important topics and provide an at-home reference that can supplement and accompany the information received from sports medicine professionals. Entries on individual sports detail their most common injuries and how to prevent them. Appendixes offer additional resources and directories of relevant organizations, as well as detailing safety tips by sport, common injuries by body part or area, nutrition information by sport, and five commonly misdiagnosed sports injuries.
The encyclopedia of twentieth-century athletes
Call Number: GV697.A1 M355 2001
ISBN: 081604242X
Sports in America : recreation, business, education, and controversy (electronic resource)
ISBN: 9781414482750
Publication Date: 2010
Explores the role of sports in American society. Covers participation and attendance at sporting events; the sports industry; illegal gambling and performance-enhancing drugs; and student athletes.

Alternatives to Wikipedia

The links below consist of collections of many reference resources on a wide variety of topics. As a result, you can do a search not just in a single encyclopedia, but all the encyclopedias related to a particular topic, or even all the encyclopedias in the vast collection. And, unlike Wikipedia, you'll know that the article was written by an expert on that topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Library Science

Reference Universe is an updated database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.

Find the most relevant, authoritative reference works of interest to you. The best way to use Reference Universe is to simply type your term or phrase of interest and note the works that are returned in the order of greatest number of hits. Make sure you check the link to see if your library holds the work.

Format: Index to Reference Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Updated every two weeks
Database Producer: Paratext