References to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings. Approximately 5,500 international journals are reviewed.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.
Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine
BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.
When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education
CINAHL Plus with full text provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL provides access to over 700 full text journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1937 - Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Cinahl Information Systems / Distributed by EBSCO
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Health
Consumer Health Complete offers an intuitive search interface that allows users to filter search results by source type. In addition to full-text journals, magazines, health reference books and evidence-based health reports, the database includes:
Nearly 500 medical images and diagrams
More than 240 animations with audio narration and transcripts
Consumer health pamphlets and leaflets from the CDC, FDA, NIH and others
Drug information in English and Spanish
Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
Consumer Health Complete contains dozens of articles on a variety of teen health topics from smoking and sexting to dealing with anger and coping with divorce. “TeenTalk” articles are aimed at teens, while “How to Talk to Teens” articles provide tips to parents on starting difficult but important conversations. Topics include addiction, aging, anxiety, cancer, diabetes, fitness, menopause, nutrition, and relationships.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection
The Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection is offered as a companion to Consumer Health databases, containing reference books from top educational publishers and presses. This encompasses a rich selection of titles covering general health topics, including diseases, treatments and therapies, diet and nutrition, mental health and wellness, and more.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: EBSCO
Comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Health
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The Health Poll database is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and healthcare utilization.
Format: full text
Dates of Coverage: unknown
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Cornell University
Information on health topics including medical sciences; nutrition; adults, seniors, & pediatrics; behavioral health; drug information; women's health; & sports medicine. Keywords: medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary. This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines with a nursing and allied health focus. Keywords: medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Medicine
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
A bibliographic database covering all the fields of medicine. Citations & abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Provides full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
Offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Physical Education, Medicine
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 400 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.
It covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education, 1983 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
Education Full Text indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information technology. This database cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1983- Update Schedule: Monthly. Database Producer: Ebsco and H.W. Wilson Company.
Database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 journals, as well as full text for more than 1000 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 130 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1966-
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), a program of the U.S. Department of Education / EBSCOHost
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
Format: Index and full text to Dissertations Dates of Coverage: 1861- Update Schedule: Daily. Database Producer: ProQuest.
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.
Format: Streaming Media Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: Kanopy
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Has your professor said that you have to use a certain number of scholarly articles for a paper, but you're not sure if a given article is scholarly or not? Well, this video provides tips on how to tell the difference between scholarly and popular articles/publications.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
