Scientific American is the oldest continuously published magazine in America. This database combines current issues of the magazine with a large backfile of this authoritative source of scientific and technical information. Scientific American Archive is a comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.
Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1845-
Database Producer: Nature Publishing Group.
Current issues of the New York Times, a leading newspaper with global coverage. Click on the "more" link below for access instructions to the online version of the New York Times.. Once you set up your account, you can also access it on mobile devices.
FIRST TIME USERS:
When accessing the New York Times online for the first time, you will need to set up an account in order to access Denison's campus-wide subscription. This account will allow you to access the New York Times both on campus and off campus.
To do so, just follow the four steps below ...
- Step 1: Navigate to https://libguides.denison.edu/New-York-Times
- Step 2: Click "Create Account" and complete fields -- you MUST use your @denison.edu email.
- Step 3: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email).
If you have an existing "personal" New York Times ID:
If you have previously registered your @edu email address on The New York Times site for your personal subscription, and want to subscribe through Denison Library, contact the Customer Care (800-698-4637 or firstname.lastname@example.org), and cancel your existing (personal) subscription. Make sure to have the Customer Care disable your email on their end, so your Denison email will be listed as non-subscriber on their end. Then start over from Step 1.
RETURNING USERS: Once your account has been setup, you can login from any device at: www.nytimes.com. using the App.
Students: Student subscriptions are valid until December 31st of your graduation year.
Faculty: Your account will expire after 4 years of access and the Times will offer to add this expiration date to your calendar when you create your account. After the expiration date has passed, go to their website and click Already have an account? "Log in here". Fill out your @denison.edu email and password. You will receive an email from NYT. Verify your email link and login again.
Any questions? Please don't hesitate to contact us at the Library: email@example.com or (740)587-6682.
RENEWAL FOR FACULTY/STAFF (every 4 years):
Go to https://libguides.denison.edu/New-York-Times and click Already have an account? "Log in here". Fill out your @denison.edu email and password. You will receive an email from NYT and you will need to confirm it. Verify your email link and login again.
A faculty classrool tool, NYT Education (https://nytimesineducation.com/welcome/), shows curated lists of recent/current articles that also come with class discussion topics and quizzes at the bottom, organized by subjects. Even if you have a subscription to NYT Online, you will still need to sign up for NYT Education, in order to start using this service.
What's included with your Denison NYT Subscription?
- The Athletic (See https://libguides.denison.edu/The-Athletic), Cooking, Wirecutter, Select Games (Wordle, Sudoku, Mini)
What isn't included with your Denison NYT Subscription?
- Some items in the "Games" category, including Spelling Bee, the Crossword, and Vertex.
Format: Full Text, Video, Online Content
Dates of Coverage: 1851 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Distributor: New York Times Company
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer