LibGuides: Communication Guide: COMM 328: Communication Law

Sources for Background Information

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, U.S. History, Law, Political Science

CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and continuously online by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1991-Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: CQ Press, a division of SAGE Publications.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events

Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.

ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present

Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest

News Sources

While the library's News Sources guide has links to many more sites/resources, the following may be useful:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's Studies, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
New York Times articles, from 1851 to three years ago.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, U.S. History

Full page images of the New York Times newspaper, dating from 1851 to three years ago.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events

Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.

Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.

Format: Digital Media
Dates of Coverage: 1968-
Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.

Judicial Sources

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a comprehensive law research database that contains more than 2,200 law journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law

HeinOnline includes more than 2,200 law journals, entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents. To learn more about each collection, visit HeinOnline's Libguides .

Our current subscriptions in this database:
Description of Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS)
Law Journal Library
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
History of International Law
History of Supreme Court Nominations
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Description of Law Academy Project
Law Academy Project
Law Library of Congress Reports
Description of Legal Classics Legal Classics
LGBTQ+ Rights
Military and Government
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)
World Constitutions Illustrated

Want to personalize HeinOnline? Read more about MyHein. With MyHein, you can create your own account and bookmark articles, save your searches, and more.

Format: full text
Database Distributor: William S. Hein
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.

The First Amendment Encyclopedia (Free Speech Center @ Middle Tennessee State University)
The First Amendment Encyclopedia is the largest single searchable compilation of articles on First Amendment freedoms on the web. There are more than 1,600 articles and are expanding daily with case summaries and topical articles written by scholars and other experts. Great for background information, understanding legal concepts, and finding the specifics of cases.
Justia
Includes a variety of legal resources, including access to U.S. Supreme Court decisions.
The Oyez Project
Audio (and transcript) archive of oral arguments before the Supreme Court, from as far back as 1955.
SCOTUSblog
Up-to-date coverage of the Supreme Court, from live blogging of oral arguments to announcements of Supreme Court actions. Useful for links to key documents (petitions, briefs, motions, etc.) in cases going back to 2007, and a glossary of legal terms.
Supreme Court Collection (Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute)
This site, maintained by Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute, offers Supreme Court decisions from the early court through the present; searchable by topic, author (i.e. justice who wrote the opinion), and party (to the case).

Note: Coverage prior to 1990 may not be complete for all times or topics
United States Reports
This is the only currently accepted "official" version of the Supreme Court decisions. According to the Supreme Court "In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here (on their web site)--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."