Research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 200 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 300 journals.
Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Daily Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
Covers the literature about television and film writing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Communication, Mass Media
Film & Television Literature Index covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications. FTLI has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Multi-disciplinary Databases that include Communication
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
Format: Index and full text to Dissertations Dates of Coverage: 1861- Update Schedule: Daily. Database Producer: ProQuest.
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate
Multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences. Open padlock icon indicates full text access.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Science, General
This multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources published by John Wiley covers life, health and physical sciences. This collection indicates full text access by an open padlock icon.
Wiley Online Library includes scientific, technical, medical and professional journals as well as books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. In addition, all Blackwell Synergy electronic journals and backfiles have been merged into the Wiley InterScience collection.
Format: Ebooks and E-journals
Database Producer: Wiley
Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Cinema, Sociology
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
You have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Database Producer: ProQuest
Complete full-text, online archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1892-present Database Producer: Proquest
Online archive of the leading women's interest magazines, from the late 19th century through 2005.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's Studies, Gender Studies, Social History, Art, Education, Politics, and Marketing/Media History.
The Women's Magazine Archive contains full archives of major women's interest, consumer magazines. This resource contains issues from the late 19th century through 2005.
Research fields served by this online archive include gender studies, social history, economics, marketing, media, fashion, politics, and pop culture.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part I includes complete archives of Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, and Parents magazine. These titles serve as records of the evolving assumptions surrounding gender roles and cultural norms. Parents magazine is relevant for research in education, psychology, health, and serves as a reflection of broad social and historical trends.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part II features several prominent, popular, and long-running publications such as Women's Day and Town & Country magazine. Part II also focuses on specific audiences with the inclusion of Cosmopolitan and Seventeen magazine, as well as Essence and Women's International Network News.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1883 - 2005 Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: ProQuest
A comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to recent issues (6-month embargo on new issues). Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Retail business, Fashion history, Popular culture, Gender studies, Marketing and advertising
Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals Dates of Coverage: 1910- 6 months embargo on the current issues Database Producer: Proquest
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events
Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 1968- Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
Important COMM resource, particularly for broadcast radio & TV news transcripts, as well as trade publications from telecommunications to entertainment & arts.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Full-text database of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: all
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Format: Full text papers.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Full text primary and secondary source archive, containing digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject: History
Full text primary and secondary source database containing digitizations of popular culture collections, focusing on the U.S. and the U.K. between 1950 and 1975. These archival materials include coverage of student protests, civil rights, consumerism and the Vietnam War.
Denison owns: Section I-II
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1950-1975
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Search most of the Denison library databases, all at the same time.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Summon is a search interface that indexes the metadata and full text available in the Library databases and catalog. It is a one-stop search tool for searching almost 500 databases at once and links users to full text resources.
Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.
Format: Full Text, Metadata, and Catalog Records Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Weekly Database Distributor: ProQuest
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Has your professor said that you have to use a certain number of scholarly articles for a paper, but you're not sure if a given article is scholarly or not? Well, this video provides tips on how to tell the difference between scholarly and popular articles/publications.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
