LibGuides: W101 Science Fiction Cinema and Society: Home

Instructor

Dr. Jeff Thompson

Talbot Hall of Biological Science - 219
Email: thompsonjs@denison.edu
Tel: 740-587-5581

Web Resources

Here are a few web sites you might find useful:

Genetic Engineering:

Genetics Home Reference - U.S. National Library of Medicine
Nature - Genetic Engineering - latest research, reviews and news from across all of the Nature journals
Agricultural Biotechnology - USDA Biotechnology Frequently Asked Questions

Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence (by SAS) - What it is and why it matters
What is Artificial Intelligence (AI)?- NIST
Artificial Intelligence, Automation, and the Economy - The White House
Computer Education: Machine Learning - AI for Kids - HP TECH TAKES

Time travel

Theoretical physics: The origins of space and time - Nature
A Debate Over the Physics of Time - Quanta Magazine

Neuroscience and memory erasing

Neuroscience Information Framework - A dynamic inventory of web-based neuroscience resources
The Human Brain Atlas - Michigan State University
MedlinePlus > Brain and Nerves - U.S. National Library of Medicine

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

Catalogs

Search Summon or CONSORT for books and other materials containing information about your topic.

CONSORT logo

Databases

The databases below will be particularly useful for this Course. For other examples search the Articles tab or explore a different Subject Guide.

Try some of the Multidisciplinary Databases for more general information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Web of Science: Core collection This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic info, abstracts, & references of leading scholarly science & tech journals.
Curated with care by an expert team of in-house Web of Science™ Editors, the Web of Science Core Collection™ allows you to search with confidence and explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the Web of Science platform and the world’s original citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: General

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.

This database includes:Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), Book Citation Index (BKCI), Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1945-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: All

Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.

Format: Streaming Media
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: Kanopy

If you need more depth try our Subject-specific Databases:

BIOSIS Previews / Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more, 1926 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine

BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.

When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.

Subject keywords: Agriculture. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Botany. Ecology. Environment. Microbiology. Neurology. Pharmacology. Public health.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to Present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Clarivate
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Biology, Business, Economics, Ecology, Environmental Science, Law, Public Health, and Urban Studies.

JSTOR Sustainability covers the topics of environmental stresses and takes a broad look at the impact these stresses have on society. To learn more about this collection, visit the related tutorials here.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1987 to present
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: JSTOR
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Provides full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Computer Science

ACM Digital Library offers a collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database.

ACM journals, magazines, and newsletters are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

Format: Full Text Journal Articles
Database Producer: Association for Computing Machinery.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS Labs) This link opens in a new window
Three bibliographic databases on Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics, & arXiv e-prints.
Off Campus Access: This web site is freely available to anyone.

NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.

To search Classic interface of SAO/NASA: http://adswww.harvard.edu/

Subject Areas: Physics & Astronomy, Geosciences

The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through our Abstract Service query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though our Browse interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives. There are currently over 8 million links to records maintained by our collaborators.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: NASA.