Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

 

Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at circdesk@denison.edu or Reference Desk at reference@denison.edu.

Data Analytics Guide

Freely available Datasets

AidData

Open data for international development

Data Hub

A "community-run catalogue of useful sets of data on the Internet."

Harvard Dataverse Network

Collection of social science research data.

International Monetary Fund Data

J-PAL (Poverty Action Lab)

Established as a research center at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’'s Economics Department, J-PAL uses randomized evaluations to answer poverty-related policy questions.

LIS Cross-National Data Center

LIS acquires datasets with income, wealth, employment, and demographic data from a large number of countries, harmonises them to enable cross-national comparisons, and makes them available for public use.

Migration Policy Institute - Data Hub

re3data.org

Registry of Research Data Repositories.

SSDC Social Science Data Collection

Stanford University archive of social science research data.

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)

Annual international trade statistics for over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country.

United Nations Data (UNdata)

World Bank Databank

World Health Organization - Data and Statistics

World Trade Organization - International Trade Statistics

World Wealth & Income Database

ENCODE: Encyclopedia of DNA Elements

The ENCODE (Encyclopedia of DNA Elements) Consortium is an international collaboration of research groups funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). The goal of ENCODE is to build a comprehensive parts list of functional elements in the human genome

GEO: Gene Expression Omnibus
GEO is a public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Array- and sequence-based data are accepted. Tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curated gene expression profiles.

Worldwide Protein Data Bank

Since 1971, the Protein Data Bank archive (PDB) has served as the single repository of information about the 3D structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
The Worldwide PDB (wwPDB) organization manages the PDB archive and ensures that the PDB is freely and publicly available to the global community.

Structural Biology Data Grid
Open access to macromolecular X-ray diffraction and MicroED datasets. The repository complements the Worldwide Protein Data Bank. SBDG also hosts reference collection of biomedical datasets contributed by members of SBGrid, Harvard and pilot communities.

NCBI Nucleotide

The NCBI Nucleotide database collects sequences from such sources as GenBank, RefSeq, TPA, and PDB. Sequences collected relate to genome, gene, and transcript sequence data, and provide a foundation for research related to the biomedical field.

 

NASA GeneLab

 

The first comprehensive space-related omics database in which users can upload, download, share, store, and analyze spaceflight and corresponding model organism data.

 

NASA Prognostics Data Repository

NASA's Prognostics Center of Excellence hosts the Prognostics Data Repository to provide data used in the development of prognostic algorithms, and time series of nominal to failed states. Data are donated from universities, agencies, or companies on an ongoing process.

 

Grouplens Datasets

GroupLens is a research lab in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities specializing in recommender systems, online communities, mobile and ubiquitous technologies, digital libraries, and local geographic information systems.

Informatics Research Data Repository

The Informatics Research Data Repository is a Japanese data repository that collects data on disciplines within informatics.

 

Kaggle

Open datasets on everything from government, health, and science to popular games and dating trends.

Data.World

Features data on topics ranging from finance to health to sports and politics.

HealthData.gov

This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

College ScoreCard Data

The College Scorecard provides data on student completion, debt and repayment, earnings, and more. It is designed to increase transparency, to see how well different schools are serving their students.

National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey NHANES  

The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.

 

Dryad

The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer