LibGuides: Data Analytics Guide: Databases

Databases

Databases provide information about journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Summon is a discovery tool that searches books and articles at the same time. Give it a try! Feel free to ask me or any reference librarian to help you.

Search for articles in our Subject-specific Databases

Sage Data
A data download and visualization tool.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Data Analytics, Political Science, Psychology, History, Social Science

This database is formerly known as Data Planet. Before that, it was known as Sage Stats.
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Format: Statistical Data
Database Producer: Sage
Historical Statistics of the United States
Provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History, Economics, Law, Political Science

Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History.

The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Format: Reference Works
Dates of Coverage: Varies by data set
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Cambridge University Press
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Statistics, Economics, Political Science, International Studies

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative, comprehensive one-volume summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Format: Statistical Resources
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Producer: ProQuest
U.S. Political Stats
Over 225,000 data series measuring information about people, places, and policies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Political Science, Data Analytics, Economics, History, Sociology / Anthropology

U.S. Political Stats contains over 225,000 data series--or data measures over time about people, places, and policies--across 10 distinct political science data categories, aligned with a political science curriculum.

The data series span as far back as 1982, and are updated on a timely basis in accordance with the collection and publication schedules of original sources. Detailed source information, with links where applicable, is provided for every data series.

Format: Data Sets and Data Series
Dates of Coverage: 1982 to present
Database Distributor: CQ Press
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data, covering a broad range of disciplines.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data, covering a broad range of disciplines including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

NOTE: To access data sets, you must provide an e-mail address. Your e-mail address is used solely to provide access to the complete array of ICPSR services and support. In all other regards the information you provide will be kept in accordance with our existing privacy policy: ICPSR does not disclose, sell or transfer personal information about our website visitors, unless required to do so for law enforcement or by statute.

Format: Data Sets, Statistical Resources
Database Producer:ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.

Search for articles in Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
JSTOR
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) OhioLINK
Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.
Nexis Uni
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Web of Science: All databases
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate

Database structure

Right click on the image and click "View Image" to see the details.

Database search interface

Right click on the image and click "View Image" to see the details.

Search for articles in Google Scholar

Search for journals

If you already have a citation for an Article and want to know if we have access to the Journal, do a Journal Title search in CONSORT.

CONSORT Library Catalog
Combined library catalog of Denison University, College of Wooster, Kenyon College, and Ohio Wesleyan University
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) OhioLINK
Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.

Data Analytics Journals

General Science Journals

American Scientist
Annual Reviews
National Geographic
National Geographic Archive 1889-1994
Nature
PNAS
Science 1880-2004
(access through JSTOR)
Science 1997-present
(access through the publisher Web site)
Science News

Scientific American Archive Online
Comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology

Scientific American is the oldest continuously published magazine in America. This database combines current issues of the magazine with a large backfile of this authoritative source of scientific and technical information. Scientific American Archive is a comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.

Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1845-
Database Producer: Nature Publishing Group.

Technical Reports

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.