LibGuides: DS 251: Costume Collection at Denison: Images & Websites

History of Fashion

The History of Fashion Collection is a teaching and learning tool that provides access to over 350 garments and accessories from 1830 through the 20th Century. Students in Costume Design and History of Fashion courses will provide additional descriptive information to these items over time.

ArtSTOR

ArtSTOR is a digital library of over 1.5 million images of art, architecture, and more!

AP Images

AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery, with a 50 million-image print and negative archive.

Fashion Resources

Fashion at the Victoria and Albert Museum
The largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world.
Fashion Museum
A world-class collection of contemporary and historic dress.
Clothing and Accessories of the Smithsonian
The more than 30,000 artifacts here represent the changing appearance of Americans from the 1700s to the present day.
The Museum at FIT
The mission of the Museum is to collect, conserve, document, exhibit, and interpret fashion.
NYTimes Fashion and Style
Keep up to date on fashion trends with articles, videos, op-eds, and more from this leading newspaper.
Fashion Windows
A visual merchandising website, discussing store windows and mannequins, and also an insider's look at the fashion industry.
Elle Dispatch
The fashion blog from the magazine Elle.
Fashion and Clothing
Various experts discuss the origins of clothing, symbolism associated with clothing, sexism in fashion, fashion icons, body piercing and tattooing.
Buying into Sexy
A report on how marketers, especially in the clothing industry, are selling a grown-up, sexy image to pre-teen girls.
Cover Girl Culture
An examination of how advertising and the cult of celebrity have deeply and negatively impacted teens and young women.
Dress and Fashion: Design and Manufacture
Several rare and unusual published resources of interest to students of western dress and fashion from the 19th to the early 20th-century.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)
Collections include Zandra Rhodes Digital Study Collection and the London College of Fashion archives

Costume Resources

Costume at the Victoria and Albert Museum
Resources on stage costumes, haute couture, kimonos, caring for and preserving costumes, and much more.
Costume Design
Interviews with costume designers who explain the processes - with examples from past productions.
The Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
The collection represents dress, costume, and accessories from the fifteenth century to the present.
The Costumer's Manifesto
Tara Maginnis is the creator of The Costumer's Manifesto, one of the World Wide Web's largest, and most eclectic, costume sites.
Costume Society of America
We work to stimulate scholarship and encourage study in the rich and diverse field of costume.
Elizabethan Costume Page
Website full of links to sites about Elizabethan dress, pattern making, and accessories.
Historical Costume Collection at Drexel University
The Collection is a searchable database of archival data and detailed graphics for the Drexel Historic Costume Collection.
The History of Costume
This book is an excellent source for students who are studying the history of fashion and for costume designers.
Makeup, Wig Dressing, and Costume
By transforming actors into memorable characters, makeup specialists, wig dressers, and wardrobe designers help bring the movies to life.
OSU Historic Costume & Textiles Collection
The 11,500+ holdings encompass a range of dress and costume from the mid-18th century to contemporary 21st century designers.