LibGuides: AHVC 131: Asian Art & Visual Culture: Reference

Cleveland Museum of Art

search the online collection

Historical Map Collections

David Rumsey Map Collection
18th and 19th century North and South America maps are the main feature of this site. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
Historical Maps of Asia
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas, Austin
Old Maps Online
TimeMaps

Other Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
over 500 online reference sources
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
dictionaries and subject reference works
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

Religions of the World
global coverage of religion

Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) This link opens in a new window
for determining multiple names for same person and brief biographical information
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.

Subject Areas: Art

The ULAN contains almost 300,000 artist names and associated information. This resource is especially helpful for determining if multiple names belong to the same person and for finding brief biographical information on lesser known artists.

Format: Catalog
Database Producer: The Getty Research Institute.

Oxford Art Online

Always Start with Oxford Art!

Oxford Art Online

Full text articles and extensive image collection covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present.

Scholarly essays on artists, art mediums, time periods, and countries. You'll find bibliographies (use these to start your own research) and images. Use the Article Contents to find time periods and art mediums of interest. You have access to all essays in this database except those in the

Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

If you are interested in Chinese art, check out these essays China.

If you are interested in Japanese art, check out these essays Japan.

If you are interested in Indian art, check out these essays India.