Over 900,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: International Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies, also known as BAS, is the most comprehensive resource for research on Asia. This database contains nearly 900,000 records pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
BAS includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1971 to Present
Database Distributor: EBSCO
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Vary by title Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: JSTOR
Index of over 16,000 journals, covering business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Mass Media
ArticleFirst is an index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 16,000 journals.
This index covers articles, news stories, letters and other items on topics as diverse as business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology.
For most items, the database also provides a list of libraries that hold the journal.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: OCLC Online Computer Library Center
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Fine Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, History, U.S. History, General
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), it offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge. AnthroSource provides current content from AAA's diverse portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Sociology/Anthropology
AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.
An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), it offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.
AnthroSource provides current content from AAA's portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.
Index of articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries. Includes content from Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Sociology & Anthropology, Biology
Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
This database offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present. It brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
Subject keywords: Archaeology. Applied anthropology. Biological anthropology. Cultural and social anthropology. Demography. Ethnography. Ethnohistory. Ethnomusicology. Folklore. Human ecology. Linguistics. Material culture. Medical anthropology. Museum studies. Physical anthropology. Political and legal anthropology. Primatology. Sociology. Visual anthropology.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Late 1800's to Present
Update Schedule: Monthly
Database Producer: EBSCO
Index of over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Art
Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Cites reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Digital library of 500,000+ images, offering collections, descriptive information, and software tools to enhance use. ArtStor Video Tutorial
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Art
Artstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information.
Software tools enable zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Users must log into personal Artstor accounts in order to download images.
Format: Images and Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: ITHAKA / JSTOR
Full text articles covering Chinese literature, history, and philosophy.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: East Asian Studies, International Studies
China Academic Journals, Series F (also known as CAJ and CNKI) is an online collection of full text articles covering literature, history and philosophy.
These articles are pulled from hundreds of Chinese academic journals from 1994 to the present. Many journals in Chinese also include English abstracts.
This database also includes the China Century Journals Project (CCJP), which is an online collection of full text articles from 1915 to 1993.
Please note, Denison does not have subscriptions to all collections in this database. To see available issues, please check this spreadsheet.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: CAJ (1994 - present) and CCJP (1915-1993)
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Producer: CNKI (China Knowledge Resource Integrated) and East View Information Services
Online archive of The Chinese Recorder, which covers the beginnings of missionary work through 1941.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Asian Studies, Religion
The Chinese Recorder covered such diverse topics as the beginnings of mission schools; the Boxer Rebellion; the crusade against opium; the ecumenical missionary conferences of 1877, 1890, and 1907; the 1911 Revolution; the growth of the Chinese church; and the rise of communism in China.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1867-1941
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Extremely rare pamphlets covering 1750-1929 in China, as well as a host of secondary resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library's Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
In addition, this archive features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors' choices from the collection.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1750-1929
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Adam Matthew Digital
Full text archive with information on virtually all aspects of life in China immediately before, during, and after the revolution.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
The U.S. State Departments Office of Chinese Affairs, charged with operational control of American policy toward China, amassed information on virtually all aspects of life there immediately before, during, and after the revolution.
Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Chinese-American relations during the post-war period.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1945-1955
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale
Original source material covering China's interaction with the West, 1793-1980.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing Chinas interaction with the West from Macartneys first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
It provides multiple perspectives from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists, and documents many of the key events that happened in this period.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1793-1980
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Adam Matthew Digital
This historical newspaper provides online coverage from 1832 to 1953.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1832 to 1953
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
The China Online Journals database of Arts & Humanities is among the most popular and the most frequently used among the journals databases. The database features core journals in the fields and a unique broad collection of Chinese university journals, which are a main research source in humanities and social sciences in China.
Numbers of Journals as of January 2023 - Arts & Humanities: 1,596
Archive of the Japan Times newspaper, an english language newspaper reporting on Japanese news, culture, and society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: International Studies, History, Political Science
The Japan Times has been published in 1897, when it was established as a newspaper giving the Japanese people an opportunity to discuss news and current events in English.
This online archive of the newspaper covers events from the Meiji era, through World War II, and to 2017.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1897-2017
Update Schedule: Archive
Database Distributor: East View
Images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
During the 1920s and early 1930s, Japan progressed toward a democratic system of government. However, parliamentary government was not rooted deeply enough to withstand the economic and political pressures of the 1930s, during which expansionism and militarization became increasingly influential in government and society.
This collection contains 114,304 images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1930-1949
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Personal and professional papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), one of the first Americans to live in Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, International Studies
The Edward Sylvester Morse Papers were given to the Peabody Museum in 1926 and consist of 99 boxes of personal and professional papers including diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts.
This collection has been digitized in its entirety. Morse's papers document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials and drawings.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1877-1925
Database Producer: Adam Matthew Digital
Images and scholarly commentary and innovative ways to illuminate East Asian social and cultural history. Keywords: Japan
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: History, Asian Studies, International Studies
Visualizing Cultures weds images and scholarly commentary in innovative ways to illuminate social and cultural history. Founded in 2002 by MIT Professors John Dower and Shigeru Miyagawa, Visualizing Cultures exploits the unique qualities of the Web as a publishing platform to enable scholars, teachers, and others to: (1) examine large bodies of previously inaccessible images; (2) compose original texts with unlimited numbers of full-color, high-resolution images; and (3) use new technology to explore unprecedented ways of analyzing and presenting images that open windows on modern history.
This website offers a growing number of titles referred to as units. This first, pioneering set of units visualizes diverse aspects of Japan in the modern world. Units in development move into China and beyond. Choose from the list of current titles on the VC Units Menu.
Format: Digital Media, Full-Text Articles
Database Producer: MIT
FBIS Daily Reports offers fully searchable reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
FBIS Daily Reports offers fully searchable reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications.
This database includes to following three collections:
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1941-1974
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1974-1996
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Annexes: 1974-1996
Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1941 to 1996
Database Producer: Readex
Information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure, 1965- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studiess
Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1965- Update Schedule: Daily Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies
Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Religion and Philosophy Collection covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Religion, Philosophy, Asian Studies
Religion and Philosophy Collection covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Update Schedule: Weekly. Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
ATLA Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This comprehensive bibliographic database spans over 50 years. The database covers the subdisciplines in the fields of theology and religion, plus religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medicine, law, and business.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Religion, Philosophy, Asian Studies
ATLA Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. This comprehensive bibliographic database spans over 50 years. The database covers the subdisciplines in the fields of theology and religion, plus religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medicine, law, and business.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1949-
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: The American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
