The diverse outlooks and attitudes of a society and culture reared under colonialism and sculpted by revolution are preserved in this collection of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in North America during the 17th and 18th centuries.
Where does the content come from?
The content in this database is based on Charles Evans’ “American Bibliography” and by Roger Bristol’s supplement, it is derived from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
What time period does it cover?
From 1639 to 1800, from the establishment of the Massachusetts Bay colony to the ratification of the Treaty of Paris and beyond.
What’s in it?
This database covers many topical categories such as economics and trade, government, health, historic events, labor, law and crime, literature, military, peoples, philosophy, politics, religion, science and technology, society, manners and customs, and theology. This archive of more than 37,000 primary source documents contains varied perspectives on subjects including but not limited to:
The American Revolution
Frontier and pioneer life
Ghosts, magic, and witchcraft
The Seven Years War
The Alien and Sedition laws
Abolitionists, slaves, and slavery
Colonization
The Wyoming Massacre
The Navigation Acts
Wit and humor
Constitutional law and amendments
Political corruption, crimes, and offenses
Taverns and temperance
The fall of man and a future life
Children’s literature
And originating from printers such as:
Robert Aitken
John Dunlop
Benjamin Franklin
Isaiah Thomas
This database provides important background and context for students researching the evolution of American governance, law, literature, politics, religion, and society.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1639-1800
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Imprints"
