The library is currently on summer hours (8:30-4:30 M-F) and will be closed Memorial Day as well as June 5th for a library staff retreat. Please plan accordingly.
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, United States History, History, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Queer Studies, Women's Studies
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America, which is covered in America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts indexes key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Subject keywords: History. Multicultural Studies. Sociology. Psychology. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Religion. Anthropology. Political Science. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Articles published 1955-
Update Schedule: Three times per year.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Contains archival materials in many areas including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Women's Studies, Black Studies
ProQuest History Vault is an archival resource in progress. When complete, this database will contain 25+ modules of archival content covering many areas, including African-American studies, womens studies, history, political science, and more. This resource includes letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Denison currently has access to the following modules: - Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Organizational Records, & Personal Papers - NAACP: Major Campaigns, Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, & National Staff Files - Slavery and the Law (1775-1867) - Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy (1960-1975) - World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees (1920-1983) Format: Full Text Database Producer: ProQuest
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere, 1906- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Index Islamicus is an index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. It includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1906-
Database Producer: Brill Academic Publishers, distributed by EBSCOhost.
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Vary by title Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: JSTOR
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Fine Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
