LibGuides: REL 106/WMST 180: Bible, Gender, and Sexuality: REL 106/WMST 180: Bible, Gender, and Sexuality

In The Catalog

Bible, Gender, Sexuality by James V. Brownson
ISBN: 9780802868633
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Dirt, Greed, and Sex by Louis William Countryman
ISBN: 9780800662240
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
The Genesis of Sex by O. Palmer Robertson
ISBN: 0875525199
Publication Date: 2002-02-01

Digital Bible Research Tools

Bible Odyssey: People, Places, and Passages
Explore the fascinating origins of the Bible and its eventful history. On Bible Odyssey, the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible.
Bible Concordance
Multi-Version Bible Concordance: 564,640 Entries from 29,275 words indexed from 12 translations.

Search for Books in Consort & OhioLink

If the book is not at Denison, you can request any book in the catalogs below be sent to the Denison Library.

1.) Clicking the REQUEST button

2.) Filling in you name and NUMBER ON THE BACK OF YOUR DENISON ID

3.) You will receive an email letting you know the book is available for pickup at the circulation desk

Search for Journal Articles In These Databases

Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Keywords: Bible, biblical studies, theology
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Religion

Old Testament Abstracts includes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1978-
Database Producer: ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 40,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 14,900 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. keywords: bible, biblical studies, theology, christiantiy
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Religion

New Testament Abstracts contains more than 40,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 14,900 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,100 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 800 current books are also summarized annually.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1985-
Update Schedule: Annual.
Database Producer: ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Religion, Philosophy, Asian Studies

ATLA Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.

This comprehensive bibliographic database spans over 50 years.

The database covers the sub-disciplines in the fields of theology and religion, plus religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medicine, law, and business.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1949-
Update Schedule: Monthly
Database Producer: The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) / EBSCOHost
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and philosophy.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Religion, Philosophy, Asian Studies

Religion and Philosophy Collection covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 290 full text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Weekly.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, 1972- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies

LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Source Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Source include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives and The Lesbian Herstory Archives. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Black Studies, International Studies

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Over 2000 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR