Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events
Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present
A federal legislative history service containing compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Government, History, Political Science, International Studies
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws. ProQuest Legislative Insight Major Laws is a subset of ProQuest Legislative Insight with content selected to support entry-level study of U.S. History, Political Science, and Government.
ProQuest legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
Format: Full text Resources Update Schedule: Daily Database Producer: ProQuest
Full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Keywords: law
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Law, Political Science
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980 and 1981-1994 contains full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1817-1994
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
U.S. Senate proceedings and deliberations on Indian treaties, Spanish-American relations, the Monroe Doctrine, the Louisiana Purchase, Lewis and Clark's expedition, the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
Senate Executive Journals, Series I, 1789- 1866 records executive proceedings in which early American senators deliberated on Indian treaties, Spanish-American relations, the Monroe Doctrine, the Louisiana Purchase, Lewis and Clark's expedition, the Civil War and the Emancipation Proclamation and more.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resource
Dates of Coverage: 1789-1866
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Created by experts in CRS, the reports present a legislative perspective on topics such as agriculture policy, counterterrorism operations, banking regulation, veteran’s issues and much more. Founded over a century ago, CRS provides authoritative and confidential research and analysis for Congress’ deliberative use.
Brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
Information about House events, hearings, roll calls, bills and resolutions currently being considered, and a link to a full text, searchable database of the U.S. Code.
Individual senators often post their press releases, floor speeches, and opinion articles on their Web sites. And committees routinely post their hearings.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, U.S. History, Law, Political Science
CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and continuously online by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1991-Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: CQ Press, a division of SAGE Publications.
The database covers 1973 through the present and represents the action with dots color coded to political party - Red for Republicans, Blue for Democrats and Yellow for Independents. The dots move through the congress from committee to committee, to the floor, etc. Mousing over any individual dot will bring up information of the bill. This information includes Bill number, Primary sponsor, party of sponsor, number of co-sponsors, and ideology score.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
