LibGuides: DS 251: Contesting the Global City: Topic Overview Resources

Collections of Topic Overview Resources

The links below consist of collections of many reference resources on a wide variety of topics. As a result, you can do a search not just in a single encyclopedia, but all the encyclopedias related to a particular topic, or even all the encyclopedias in the vast collection.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Library Science

Reference Universe is an updated database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.

Find the most relevant, authoritative reference works of interest to you. The best way to use Reference Universe is to simply type your term or phrase of interest and note the works that are returned in the order of greatest number of hits. Make sure you check the link to see if your library holds the work.

Format: Index to Reference Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Updated every two weeks
Database Producer: Paratext

Finding Additional Topic Overview Resources in the Library

You can search for reference books specific to your topic by doing an advanced search in Consort. Be specific with keywords and limit your search to "DEN Reference" (in the 'Location' box) - to find books in the reference area (1st floor, Learning Commons).