It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or Reference Desk at email@example.com.
Personal Librarian Guide: Home
Learn about the Personal Librarian Program at Denison Libraries
The Denison Libraries provide personalized service to our First Year undergraduates. Our subject librarians have extensive knowledge about how information is organized and the best tools for locating, identifying, and acquiring the sources you need.
Our Personal Librarians program reaches out to all First Year students. Each student will receive regular (typically monthly) e-mails from their assigned librarian with news about our resources, suggestions on using our services, and other relevant topics. Your Personal Librarian is also available for one-on-one consultations to help with your specific class assignment or general questions about using the library.
There's a Librarian in your subject area who can help
Our Librarians are trained Subject Research specialists in a variety of disciplines. We're happy to set up an appointment for a private consultation on your individual research interests. During a consultation we can:
Discuss your research question and suggest appropriate databases to find more information
Help you develop a search strategy that translates your research questions into a search you can take to multiple databases, catalogs, or search engines
Show you tools to keep you organized and efficient in your research
Contact your Personal Librarian or stop by the Research Help Desk on the 1st floor of the library.
Scholarly literature is free to you & easy to access
In addition to its collections of printed books on campus, Denison Libraries subscribe to thousands of journals and e-books from top publishers of scholarly research. As a Denison student, you have access to these wherever you may be doing your research. Whether you find out about an article from your advisor, one of our research databases, through Google, or in a works cited list, check the library's resources to get the full text quickly and easily.
Summon is a database of databases, searching the Library databases as well as the Library catalog. Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Summon is a search interface that indexes the metadata and full text available in the Library databases and catalog. It is a one-stop search tool for searching almost 500 databases at once and links users to full text resources.
Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.
Format: Full Text, Metadata, and Catalog Records Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Weekly Database Distributor: ProQuest
If we don't have it, we'll try to get it for you
As much as we would like to, we do not have everything ever published at our library. However, if you identify an item that would be useful for your research, we will try to obtain it for you to borrow or (in the case of journal articles) to keep.
As members of the OhioLINK consortium, our students can borrow items from any of the 100+ OhioLINK college and university libraries. The books, theses, conference proceedings and other items can be checked out just like any Denison book and can be renewed online.
RefWorks allows you to manage and organize your citations and generate a bibliography. To create a RefWorks account, provide your Denison e-mail address and create a password. Once you've created an account, go to RefWorks to get started. Take the online RefWorks course if you would like to learn how to use it.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: firstname.lastname@example.org
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer