Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

 

Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at circdesk@denison.edu or Reference Desk at reference@denison.edu.

Psychology Guide

Searching for Reference Books

Search CONSORT for Reference Books containing basic information on your topic. Add the expression "AND (encyclopedia OR dictionary OR handbook)" to your regular Keyword search to find this type of resource in our collection. To search for Reference Books in print in the Library Commons - 1st floor, go to CONSORT's Advanced search and select "Location: DEN Reference"

 

 

 

Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Wikipedia

Remember to VERIFY any information found in Wikipedia with a more RELIABLE scholarly source. Cite those sources, not Wikipedia.

Search Wikipedia:

Additional sources

Specialized encyclopedias and other reference books such as the ones listed below are a good place to begin your research.  In books such as these you will find basic material that will help you work on your topic. This is also a good place to look for a bibliography with references to primary research articles and images to use in presentations. Reference books are located on the 1st floor in the Library Commons.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer