Primary source documents that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970, The Middle East Online: Series 1, is a fully searchable database of primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Topics covered include the background to the establishment of the State of Israel, Black September, the Border wars of the 1950s, the British capture of Jerusalem, the Cold War in the Middle East, the formation of the United Arab Republic, Jewish terror groups, and milestones in the Palestine-Zionist tension and their impact on British policy, leading to the Partition of 1948.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1914-1974
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Confidential print: Middle East covers Middle Eastern history from 1812-1958; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria.
The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties.
All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Format: Full Text Journals; Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1812-1958
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Women's history materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages, 1543-1945.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1543-1945
Database Producer: ProQuest
Full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held womens periodicals produced from the late Eighteenth century through the early 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, Social History, Women's Studies
Historical womens periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for womens rightswoman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for examplegrew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for womens periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1786-1933 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
Database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies
Iraq 1914-1974, The Middle East Online: Series 2 is a fully searchable database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK. Offers a broad range of material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1914-1974 Database Producer: Gale
This resource offers a window into 19th and 20th century travel writing, as it documents travel to British, French, Chinese, and American destinations through the writing of women.
Themes within this collection include empire, tourism, war, politics, cultural history, nature, the environment, and spiritual enlightenment.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 19th & 20th centuries
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Documents related to the Iraqi Revolution of 1958. Keywords: foreign relations, MIddle East
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
The program of technical cooperation in Iraq, prior to the Revolution of 1958, was frequently cited as an example of the ideal Point Four program. The overthrow of the established government led naturally to questions concerning the "failure" of American technical assistance in that country. This collection contains 52,834 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1950-1958 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. Keywords: foreign relations
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
This collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. These files consist of letters of correspondence, memoranda, coversheets, notes, distribution lists, newspaper articles, informational papers, published articles, and reports from the public, the Congress, Bush administration officials, and other various federal agencies primarily regarding American Middle East peace policy and the United States role in the many facets of the Middle East peace process.
Provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's & Gender Studies
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage:19-20th centuries Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Contains published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
When completed, this database will contain published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1840-present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
The American Geographical Society Library (AGSL), one of the premier collections of its kind in North America, contains over 1.3 million items supporting instruction, research and outreach at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and around the world.
The collection contains maps, atlases, books periodicals, film media and digital data files. Its scope is worldwide with coverage from the 15th century to the present. Its resources have been used to produce an ongoing series of digital collections, including an award winning website on Afghanistan, a comprehensive site on world transportation and collections featuring unique photographic documentation of such places as Tibet, the Republic of Georgia, Korea and World War II Poland. The AGSL offers scholarly programs for the campus and local community throughout the year and welcomes visiting scholars from across the US and the world.
Aims to become one of the world’s largest online archives of Middle Eastern and North African artifacts. The DLME aggregates, through an ongoing program, digital records of published materials, documents, maps, artifacts, audiovisual recordings, and more from the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region.
The materials selected for the debut of this evolving digital collection include classics of illustrated travel and regional archaeology, as well as the Library's earliest works of photography in the Middle East region. In general, they came to the Library from the founding collections of the Astor and Lenox libraries; these institutions had in turn acquired many titles as contemporary illustrated publications of their time. The digital collection ranges to the turn of the last century when entrepreneurial photographers and publishers mass-produced handsome mounted photographs, custom albums, and elegant photo-mechanically printed books for the tourist. Most of the photographic compilations came to the Library as gifts from the descendents of the travelers whose journeys they evoke.
The Oman Library’s online collection is a web-based digital collection of the library’s rare books and manuscripts, consisting entirely of subjects related to Middle Eastern Studies. The topics of the rare collection range from history and culture to works of fiction from the early twentieth century. The collection includes materials in seven different languages -- English, Arabic, French, Farsi, Urdu, Ottoman Turkish, and Turkish -- and publications spanning the period from 1700 to 1921. In addition to the rare collection, MEI has included in the digitalization process all of its own Middle East Institute published works that span from the 1960s to 2004, including its 1947 meeting memos.
The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is making a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online for the first time. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.
For those interested in historical photographs of the Middle East, the following list provides a selection of institutions and organizations with significant collections. This list was prepared for the session “Documenting the Middle East: A Look at Photograph Collections in the United States” presented at the Society of American Archivists Annual Meeting, New Orleans, Louisiana, August 20, 2005. It was prepared by Robert Burton (North Carolina State University Libraries), Ruth Thomasian (Project SAVE Armenian Photograph Archives, Inc.), Jeff Spurr (Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, Harvard University), Susan Woodland (Hadassah Archives), and Arden Alexander (Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs).
The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, and historical maps of Egypt and Cyprus.
Founded in 1995, the Women and Memory Forum (WMF) is composed of a group of women academics, researchers and activists concerned about the negative representations and perceptions of Arab women in the cultural sphere. Dominant cultural views and images of Arab women constitute a major stumbling block in the course of women’s development and attainment of their rights.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
