LibGuides: AHVC 111: Modern Art & Visual Culture: AHVC 111 Class Guide

Getting Started

1. Search for your artist's name.
2. You will get a list of books that are in the Cleveland Institute of Art's library - NOT DENISON.
3. Copy the title of the book (in bold).
4. Paste the title into Consort and search by Title.
5. If the book is not in Consort, search OhioLink.

Journal Articles & Newspapers

Journal Articles
Newspaper Articles

Art Full Text (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Cites reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Indexing coverage begins 1984.
Abstracting coverage begins January 1994.
Full-text coverage begins 1997.

See Art Index Retrospective for earlier content.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes art literature (1929-1984) covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

See Art Full Text for more recent content.

Format: Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Database Distributor: EBSCO
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR

New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
New York Times articles, from 1851 to three years ago.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, U.S. History

Full page images of the New York Times newspaper, dating from 1851 to three years ago.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of The Times of London. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, History, Political Science, Theatre

The complete digital edition of The Times (London), 1785 to 2019.

Search using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

The entire weekday newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

For more coverage, see also the "Sunday Times (London), 1822-2016."

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Database Producer: Gale

Finding Books

An artist monograph is a book about the artist published independent of an exhibition. Monographs usually have lengthy essays that provide a history and biography of the artist as well as analyze the work.

An exhibition catalog is a document from a museum or gallery show. An exhibition catalog may be from a group show or for a solo exhibition. Usually a catalog has at least one in-depth essay on the content of the exhibition.

A catalogue raisonné is a complete study on an artist's studio career or a large body of work.

Museums & Recommended Websites

Tate Modern
National collection of British art (1500 to present) and international modern and contemporary art.
MoMA's Online Collection
The Museum of Modern Art is dedicated to being the foremost museum of modern art in the world.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
This is an excellent source for all things art history - including modern. Check out the Timeline of Art History!
Gagosian Gallery
The gallery presents a roster of ambitious exhibitions by the most acclaimed living artists.
New Museum
A leading destination for new art and new ideas.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of 500,000+ images, offering collections, descriptive information, and software tools to enhance use.
ArtStor Video Tutorial
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Artstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information.

Software tools enable zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Users must log into personal Artstor accounts in order to download images.

Format: Images and Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: ITHAKA / JSTOR

Artsy
Artsy's mission is to make all the world's art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.
Google Art Project
Explore art from around the world, photographed in high resolution.

ArtsJournal: Daily Arts News
The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world.
Contemporary Art Daily
Published by the Contemporary Art Group, this blog posts about art exhibitions and events.
NYTimes Art and Design
Keep up to date on all the happenings and trends in the arts through this leading newspaper.
Hyperallergic
Playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture to an ever-expanding readership.

AHVC 111: Modern Art & Visual Culture

Related LibGuides

Librarian

Getting Started

Journal Articles & Newspapers

Finding Books

Museums & Recommended Websites