Contemporary performance films, recorded and edited collaboratively with artists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theater, Cinema, Dance
OnTheBoards.tv is a database of contemporary performance films that are curated and edited collaboratively, with the artists involved. Founded by artists in 1978, this group works to encourage and educate audiences and artistic innovators.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1978 to Present Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: OnTheBoards.tv
Streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries of the 20th century. Denison University has a subscription to Volume 1.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Area: Dance
Dance in Video is a searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 20th Century Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.
Format: Streaming Media Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: Kanopy
A digital streaming video collection of unique films including current, leading British theatre productions and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theatre, Dance, Drama, Performing Arts.
Digital Theatre Plus is a streaming video platform of current British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes commentaries. This platform is one way to immerse researchers in performance while also helping to ready performing arts students for employment.
This database is comprised of 4 main parts:
(1) Plays & Productions: with 361 "filmed and audio" productions. These recordings include performances from Shakespeare's Globe theatre, the Broadway Digital Archive, the Royal Opera House, and the BBC.
(2) Practice & Practitioners: 397 interviews and documentaries with cast members, directors, and backstage crews are found in Digital Theatre Plus.
(3) Theory & Criticism: Digital Theatre Plus includes 284 written resources (6,975 pages) written by both academics and practitioners. These materials explore theatre history, theory, and technique.
(4) Teaching with DT: These resources have been commissioned, created and curated by Creative Content Producer Fiona Lindsay and Editorial Director (Higher Education) Talia Rodgers to support the teaching of English, Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies, and Performing Arts subjects from secondary to higher education. We provide resources which bridge the gap between school and university. Many of the resources below can be used across all levels from the UK to the US and beyond.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies by production, from the 1960's through present Update Schedule: Quarterly Database Distributor: Digital Theatre Plus
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
