Covers the literature about television and film writing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Communication, Mass Media
Film & Television Literature Index covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications. FTLI has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Performing Arts content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, 1864 to present . Keywords: theater, dance, cinema, music, IIPA.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Theatre, Dance, Music, Cinema
The Performing Arts Database, formerly known as the International Index to the Performing Arts, draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals.
Most full text records within this resource contain an abstract and selected records contain corresponding full text of the original article.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1864 to present Update Schedule: Monthly Database Producer: ProQuest
Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Cinema, Sociology
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
You have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Database Producer: ProQuest
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Online newspaper archive covering news, politics, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day from 1791-2003. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Mass Media, Communication
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003), give full text, online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
From Napoleons defeat at Waterloo - to the Russian Revolution - to Nelson Mandelas release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1791-2003
Database Producer: ProQuest
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
