LibGuides: Art History Guide: Art History Guide

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online

Full text articles and extensive image collection covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present.

Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Compendium of directories on companies, publishers, associations, etc.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale Directory Library is a cross-searchable compendium of directories on companies, publishers, associations, etc.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference

Search for Books and Ebooks

Summon This link opens in a new window
Summon is a database of databases, searching the Library databases as well as the Library catalog. Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: All

Summon is a search interface that indexes the metadata and full text available in the Library databases and catalog. It is a one-stop search tool for searching almost 500 databases at once and links users to full text resources.

Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.

Format: Full Text, Metadata, and Catalog Records
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Distributor: ProQuest
Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your name and barcode (the back of your ID)

Subject Areas: Humanities, Science, Social Science

The Electronic Book Center contains thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The Electronic Center contains electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries from these publishers: ABC-CLIO, Gale, Oxford University Press, Sage, Springer, Wiley, Chadwyck-Healey, Oxford Scholarship Online, . Please note, some new ebooks are only added to the new platform .

Format: full text books
Database producer: varies
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
WorldCat.org (Web Interface) This link opens in a new window
Worldcat.org is a global catalog of library content and materials.
WorldCat.org is the web interface for the world's largest network of library content and services. Over 10,000 libraries have provided access to their records and catalogs through this resource.

Open Web Ebooks

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digitized scholarly books often used in Digital Humanities for data mining. For Denison Patrons: click the Login button in top right side of screen, select Denison for the pull-down, and login with your MyDenison credentials. Public Domain titles are available to view without a login.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

To access content available to Denison patrons: click the Login button in top right side of screen, select Denison for the pull-down, and login with your MyDenison credentials.

Subjects: General

The HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository.

This database provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Constantly updated
Database Distributor: HathiTrust.org

Internet Archive
Archive of digital texts, audio, moving images, and webpages.
Project Gutenberg
The original e-book site containing over 17,000 titles, most published 75 or more years ago.

Art History Guide

Art History Class Guides

Fine Arts Librarian

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Search for Books and Ebooks

Open Web Ebooks