Skip to Main Content

AHVC 263/EAST 263/ENVS 263: Spatial Imagination in East Asia

What is the Spatial Turn?

map portion What is Spatial Turn? is part of a project on

Spatial Humanities from the Scholars' Lab at the University of Virginia Library.

Some of their projects include ones recommended here: Hypercities, WorldMap, and the David Rumsey Map Collection.

Reference Tools for Art History

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.

Oxford Art Online

Full text articles and extensive image collection covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present.

Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 300,000 artist names and associated information, helpful for determining multiple names for same person and for finding brief biographical information.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.

Subject Areas: Art

The ULAN contains almost 300,000 artist names and associated information. This resource is especially helpful for determining if multiple names belong to the same person and for finding brief biographical information on lesser known artists.

Format: Catalog
Database Producer: The Getty Research Institute.

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer