Biography

A compilation of over 200 up-to-date, contemporary profiles of accomplished and rising stars of politics, industry, entertainment and the arts from the U.S. and around the world. H.W. Wilson's Current Biography Yearbook combines a full year of the monthly magazine Current Biography into a single, permanent record. It has been delivering up-to-date biographies of men and women of contemporary importance since 1940.

American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by anexpert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.

Entries in Who's Who books list career and personal data for each biography, including birth date and place, names of parents and family members, education, writings and creative works, civic activities, awards, political affiliation, religion, and addresses.

This encyclopedia explores leadership theories and leadership practice through articles, biographical essays, and case studies focused on leaders (and their followers). Articles and sidebars show leadership in action in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations.

This guidebook provides a complete overview of the lives and influence of fifty major figures in modern British political history. Reflecting the changes within British society and politics over the past century, the entries chart the development of key contemporary issues such as women's rights, immigration and the emergence of New Labour. Figures covered include: * Winston Churchill * Tony Blair * Emmeline Pankhurst * David Lloyd George * Margaret Thatcher * John Maynard Keynes * Enoch Powell * Barbara Castle With cross-referenced entries and helpful suggestions for further reading, this book is an essential guide for all those with an interest in understanding the dominating issues of modern British politics.

Beginning in 500 with the fusion of classical, Christian, and Germanic cultures and ending in 1300 with a Europe united by a desire for growth, knowledge, and change, this volume provides basic information on the significant cultural figures of the Middle Ages. It includes over 400 people whose contributions in literature, religion, philosophy, education, or politics influenced the development and culture of the Medieval world. While focusing on Western European figures, the book does not neglect those from Byzantium, Baghdad, and the Arab world who also contributed to the politics, religion, and culture of Western Europe. Europe underwent fundamental changes during the Middle Ages. It changed from a preliterate to a literate society. Cities became a vital part of the economy, culture, and social structure. The poor and serfs went to the cities. The devout joined monastic orders. Christianity spread throughout Europe, while a man was born in Mecca who would change the shape of the religious map. Islam spread throughout the Holy Land. Christian piety led to the Crusades. This book provides a convenient guide to those who helped shape these movements and counter-movements during this era that would pave the way for the Renaissance.

"The International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists is an invaluable and authoritative resource for students of science and women's studies."

Celebrating a century of revolutionary contributions to our understanding of life, the world, and the universe, this encyclopedic desk reference traces the discoveries that earned nearly 500 distinguished scientists Nobel honors in the areas of chemistry, physics, and medicine. The School of Library Journal called it "...eye-catching... Original artwork, colorful captioned drawings of models and structures, and diagrams illustrate complex scientific principles and may invite browsing. ...great graphics and appealing format..." This book includes over 550 full color illustrations and photographs, and is a must for the library of any public, university, business, or personal library.