Sometimes it is important to differentiate between Primary and Secondary Sources; since the the difference is often contextual, it can be hard to tell. Check the link below from the Bowling Green State University Libraries below for some clarification and examples.
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Spanish, U.S. History
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
"Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," from which the collection draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
The collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Hispanics, and sheds new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.
Format: Full Text and Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: Colonial through 1960 Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
This online archive covers the history of the Caribbean for nearly 400 years, from 1535-1920.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology
Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920 looks at the diverse history of the Caribbean islands through books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides, and ephemera.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1535-1920 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: Readex
Online archive of 140 newspapers from 22 islands in the Caribbean, covering the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 is an online archive that covers colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, and New World slavery.
This collection is a comprehensive resource for studying the development of Western society in this area.
Format: Full Text Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1718-1876
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
A study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History, Women's Studies
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. Contains 14,315 images from the personal collection Dr. K. Lynn Stoner.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1898-1958 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Provides unique perspectives for the study of Latin American and Caribbean international relations.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
The collection affords a country-by-country analyses utilizing the State Departments decimal system to organize the voluminous correspondence and reporting on a variety of diverse topics, events, and people. In addition, it provides detail on the evolution of Latin American foreign policies, significance of inter-American cooperation in time of war, and the rise of totalitarian regimes.
Includes 105,704 images from the library of the U.S. National Archives.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1930-1944 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Contains material associated with the economic, social and political history of commodities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, economics
Global commodities contains material associated with the economic, social and political history of commodities. The resource provides access to a wide range of rare printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and objects associated with the history of 15 commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine and spirits. The material also covers other commodities including beef, cheese, coal, corn, fish, fruits, machinery, rice, silk and wool.
The commodities included in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years, helping transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Format: Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1500-present Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Online archive covering hundreds of newspapers published in the U.S. by Hispanics.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many titles published in the 19th century.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: 1808-1980 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Provides insights into President Kennedys views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection provides insights into President Kennedys views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are more than just documents on the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba.
There are documents that highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race.
Includes 64,126 images from the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1958-1964 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Collection of digital photographs of Mayan archaeology.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Sociology & Anthropology
Mayan Archaeology Digital Photographs is a collection of digital photographs of Mayan archaeology. This collection shows Mayan architecture and scenery from Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala. As a resource for the exploration of the various and complex interrelationships within Mayan society, the Mayan archaeology collection serves as basic image resource which the creators hope will be augmented by other scholars in the field.
These photos are part of the History & Archives Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media
Database Producer: Anthropology Department, Oberlin College.
U.S. State Department records of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath -1910-1924.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath -1910-1924. These unique and insightful records provide an unprecedented look at the Mexican Revolution, which began in 1910 and continued sporadically until the new Constitution was adopted in 1917, through to and including the election of Calles.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1910 to 1924. Database Producer: Gale
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, History
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Format: Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1500-1926 Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Online collection of films from the communist world revealing war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Political Science
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.
Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, the films illuminate how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century. The footage was originally sourced from communist states, then versioned into English language for private distribution in Britain and the West.
This is the largest film collection of its kind to survive in Western Europe. The films have been conserved, digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels, and are fully transcribed and searchable.
This resource is made up of three modules: Module I: Wars & Revolutions Module II: Newsreels & Cinemagazines Module III: Culture & Society
Format: Full Text, Streaming Media Dates of Coverage: Early 20th century to the 1980s Update Schedule: Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Important Spanish language literary title featuring the 20th century's principal authors and intellectuals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Spanish, Literature, History, Political Science, English, Humanities
Founded in 1931 by Argentine intellectual Victoria Ocampa, "SUR" is well known throughout the Americas and Europe for featuring writings from some of the best known figures in literature, philosophy, history and the arts.
The magazine contained contributions from Virginia Woolf, Jean-Paul Satre, Jorge Luis Borges, LeCorbusier, Lacan, Cortazar, Bioy Casares and many others as well as Ocampos own social commentary on political, governmental and economic affairs.
This important literary title featuring the century's principal authors and intellectuals is vital for historical research on all aspects of 20th century life.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1931-1992 Database Producer: Gale Cengage
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
