Environmental Studies Guide

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies

AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports.

The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.

Auxiliary subjects that support the National Agricultural Library's (NAL's) Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in this database.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970-
Database Producer: U.S. National Agricultural Library.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine

BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.

When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.

Subject keywords: Agriculture. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Botany. Ecology. Environment. Microbiology. Neurology. Pharmacology. Public health.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to Present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Clarivate

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Computer Science

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.

Format: Index to and Full Text of Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: EBSCO

Environment Complete includes full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline. Many of the resources are unique to the database, not available in any version of Academic Search or Business Source. In addition, the database includes millions of records from thousands of domestic and international journals dating back over 100 years.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Environmental Studies

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from over 1,700 domestic and international journals, as well as over 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index is a resource for access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. This index is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design & history. Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index covers general gardening serials of national, international, and regional interest, and serials devoted to specialty gardens and plant groups, most published in English.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Geosciences

GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database indexes geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

GeoRef is also available from GeoScienceWorld. Click here

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1785-present
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: American Geological Institute / EBSCOHost

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Environmental Studies

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Format: Index, abstracts and full text of articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education

Health Source: Consumer Edition provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary. This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Provides full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing

Off Campus Access: This resource is open access and does not require authentication.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology

Scientific American is the oldest continuously published magazine in America. This database combines current issues of the magazine with a large backfile of this authoritative source of scientific and technical information. Scientific American Archive is a comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.

Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1845-
Database Producer: Nature Publishing Group.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.

Curated with care by an expert team of in-house Web of Science™ Editors, the Web of Science Core Collection™ allows you to search with confidence and explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the Web of Science platform and the world’s original citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: General


Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.

This database includes:Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), Book Citation Index (BKCI), Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.


Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1945-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters.