LibGuides: Spanish Guide: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Reference Works

Credo Reference
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

Spanish Language Reference

Nueva Gramatica de la Lengua Española by Real Academia Real Academia de la Lengua Espanola
Call Number: Reference PC4105 N84 2009 v.1-2

ISBN: 9788467032079

Publication Date: 2010-02-09

Una obra académica panhispánica. La primera vez que una gramática académica refleja todas las variedades del español La Nueva gramática de la lengua española, primera gramática académica desde 1931, es el resultado de once años de intenso trabajo de las veintidós Academias de la Lengua Española.
Pocket Oxford Spanish dictionary = Diccionario Oxford compact : Spanish-English by Nicholas Rollin
ISBN: 9780191739538

Publication Date: 2009
Pocket Oxford Spanish dictionary = Diccionario Oxford compact : English-Spanish by Nicholas Rollin, Carol Styles Carvajal, Jane Horwood
ISBN: 9780191735097

Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Beatriz Galimberti Jarman (Editor); Roy Russell (Editor); Carol Styles Carvajal (Editor); Jane Horwood (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PC4640 .O94 2003

ISBN: 0198604750

Publication Date: 2003-07-03

Now in colour, with an ultra-clear layout for maximum accessibility, this major new edition provides the richest coverage of Spanish from around the world, covering over 300,000 words and phrases, and more than 500,000 translations.
Collins Concise Spanish Dictionary
Call Number: Reference PC4640 .C53 1993

ISBN: 0004701151

Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Multicultural Spanish Dictionary by Agustin Martinez (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PC4640 .M26 1999

ISBN: 1887563458

Publication Date: 1999-06-08

Is Spanish one language? Yes and no. This dictionary tells you what all the others don't. It guides you through the many variations of Spanish and helps you identify and use everyday Spanish like a native.

Spanish Literature Reference

Gale Literature Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English, People

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online includes all volumes of Gale's reference set, Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. It features comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series concentrates on major literary figures with in-depth essays and related images such as manuscript pages and revised galley proofs, title pages, dust jackets and pictures from the authors' lives. The Documentary series allows for further study of major literary figures through critical and biographical source materials.

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series is annual compendium which includes original material covering a given year's literary highlights, including obituaries and tributes. The Yearbook provides signed essays summarizing the year in poetry, fiction, biography, drama and children's books we well as scholarly articles, interviews, biographies and critical studies covering events, organizations, works, writers and the business of literature.

Cross-searchable with the Literature Criticism database. Also features a link to the Literary Index.

Format: Full Text Journal, Reference Works
Database Producer: Gale Cengage
Gale Literature Criticism
Compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Formerly known as Literary Criticism Online, or LCO.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English

Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Literary Reference Source Plus
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English

Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes:

* plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
* articles of literary criticism
* full text of literary journals
* author biographies
* book reviews
* author interviews
* and images of key literary figures

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Hispanic Literature Criticism by Jelena O. Krstovic (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PQ7081.A1 H573 1994

ISBN: 0810391457

Publication Date: 1994-04-01

This two-volume reference covers literary criticism on the works of 70 Hispanic authors. Each entry includes: critical opinion on the author and his/her works; bibliographical citation for each criticism; a chronology of principal works; biographical and career details; and further reading.
Latino and Latina Writers
Call Number: Reference PS153.H56 L39 2004 v.1-2

ISBN: 9780684316598

Publication Date: 2003-11-03
World Literature in Spanish [3 Volumes] by Maureen Ihrie (Editor); Salvador Oropesa (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PQ6006 .W68 2011 v.1-3

ISBN: 9780313337703

Publication Date: 2011-10-20

Containing roughly 850 entries about Spanish-language literature throughout the world, this expansive work provides coverage of the varied countries, ethnicities, time periods, literary movements, and genres of these writings.
Latin American Writers on Gay and Lesbian Themes by David William Foster
Call Number: Reference PQ7081.3 .F62 1994

ISBN: 0313284792

Publication Date: 1994-11-07

Gay and lesbian themes in Latin American literature have been largely ignored. This reference fills this gap by providing more than a hundred alphabetically arranged entries for Latin American authors who have treated gay or lesbian material in their works. Each entry explores the significance of gay and lesbian themes in a particular author's writings and closes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Latin American Writers by Carlos A. Solé (Editor); Maria I. Abreu (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PQ7081.A1 L37 1989

ISBN: 9780684184630

Publication Date: 1905-06-01

This collection of bio-critical essays on Latin American writers from the 16th century to the present, is enhanced by Supplement I, covering writers who have come to the fore since the publication of the base set in 1989.