Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, of the English language.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).
Format: Full Text Books Update Schedule: Quarterly. Database Producer: Oxford University Press
Literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, People
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online includes all volumes of Gale's reference set, Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. It features comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series concentrates on major literary figures with in-depth essays and related images such as manuscript pages and revised galley proofs, title pages, dust jackets and pictures from the authors' lives. The Documentary series allows for further study of major literary figures through critical and biographical source materials.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series is annual compendium which includes original material covering a given year's literary highlights, including obituaries and tributes. The Yearbook provides signed essays summarizing the year in poetry, fiction, biography, drama and children's books we well as scholarly articles, interviews, biographies and critical studies covering events, organizations, works, writers and the business of literature.
Cross-searchable with the Literature Criticism database. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journal, Reference Works Database Producer: Gale Cengage
Complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, People
Literary Index is a master index to published resources containing complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings including series such as Contemporary Authors and The Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Gale Literary Index is now available within Gale Literature.
Format: Index to Books Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Formerly known as Literary Criticism Online, or LCO.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes:
* plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
* articles of literary criticism
* full text of literary journals
* author biographies
* book reviews
* author interviews
* and images of key literary figures
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
