LibGuides: Copyright and Intellectual Property: Learn More About Copyright

Copyright Law - Courses & Presentations for Librarians

Copyright for Educations and Librarians (MOOC)
A Coursera MOOC taught by Kevin Smith, Lisa Macklin, and Anne Gilliland providing an overview of U.S. copyright and various rights and exceptions.
Copyright Crash Course (Univ. of Texas LibGuide)
New version of the fantastic guide to copyright created by Georgia Harper. Covers copyright basics, fair use, TEACH Act, and more.
Copyright for Libraries (Self Paced Course)
Developed by the Berkman Center and EIFL for librarians in developing and transitional countries, this multi-module course provides training on various copyright issues including public domain, permissions, and rights & exceptions.
CopyrightX (Harvard MOOC)
12 week free MOOC on copyright law offered through Harvard Law School.
Certificate in Copyright Management (SLA Courses)
Series of courses available for purchase through the Special Library Association. Completion of eight or more courses results in an award of a Certificate in Copyright Management.
Copyright in Higher Education Elements Resources (CHEER)
This repository, hosted by Clemson University, provides the building blocks that anyone can use to develop copyright education and awareness programming at their institution. Elements range from images and text to full presentations. Licensed for re-use, you can customize elements to best fit the copyright needs of your situation and audience.
Copyright in the Classroom
From the Ohio State University Copyright Resource Center a series of podcast lectures on copyright law.
CopyTalk Webinars
Series of webinars on a variety of copyright topics presented by the American Library Association Office of Information Technology Policy.

Creative Commons License "Scholarly Communication Toolkit: Copyright" by ACRL licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Section 108 (Library Exception) - Resources

Section 108 Spinner Tool to help libraries and archives determine whether 108 applies to their proposed reproduction or preservation activity.
Video at Risk Guidelines to assist libraries in analyzing section 108 as applies to preserving video collections.
Section 108 Due Diligence Project Collaborative project to create a database of VHS titles eligible for duplication under Section 108.

Creative Commons License "Scholarly Communication Toolkit: Copyright" by ACRL licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Orphan Works - Readings

Digitizing Orphan Works: Legal Strategies to Reduce Risks for Open Access... As part of larger project, literature review by David Hansen on legal avenues, other than fair use, for digitizing orphan works. Follow-up on the larger project at https://osc.hul.harvard.edu/programs/orphan-works/
Best Practices in Fair Use of Collections Containing Orphan Works Another title in the Best Practices in Fair Use series focusing on digitizing orphan works in collections of libraries, museums and archives. (2014)
Series of White Papers on Orphan Works - Berkeley Digital Library Copyright Project Several white papers contained in this collection on orphan works - including definition issues, what constitutes a diligent search, etc.

Creative Commons License "Scholarly Communication Toolkit: Copyright" by ACRL licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.