LibGuides: Affordable Content & OER for Faculty at Denison: Other Forms of Affordable Content

Denison Library Resources

Libraries license millions of items of content already. While these items are copyrighted, they can be used in classes. For help figuring how to use these resources in courses, see PittOnline Copyright Flow Charts. Use the tools below to search for content or reach out to your library liaison.

CONSORT Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Combined library catalog of Denison University, College of Wooster, Kenyon College, and Ohio Wesleyan University
Summon This link opens in a new window
Summon is a database of databases, searching the Library databases as well as the Library catalog. Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: All

Summon is a search interface that indexes the metadata and full text available in the Library databases and catalog. It is a one-stop search tool for searching almost 500 databases at once and links users to full text resources.

Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.

Format: Full Text, Metadata, and Catalog Records
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Distributor: ProQuest
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.

Streaming Video Databases
Streaming video databases licensed by Denison University Libraries
All Subject Guides
A-Z Database List

PittOnline Copyright Flow Charts
These decision trees help instructors navigate copyright questions regarding use of articles, book chapters, and images in courses.

Online Digital Collections

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
- Messages & Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1913
- The Public Papers of the Presidents: 1929-2007 & 2010
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: 2009-2012
Digital Public Library of America
Contains over 49 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States. The search tool has a filter to limit by usage rights.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Offers a single point of access to millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.
DocsTeach
The online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives. DocsTeach is a product of the National Archives education division. Our mission is to engage, educate, and inspire all learners to discover and explore the records of the American people preserved by the National Archives.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Digital Collections, including the former American Memory collections, provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress has over 500 digital collections containing many public domain items.
Library of Congress Online Collections
Library of Congress has over 6 millions items available online, many in the public domain.
Life Magazine Photo Archive hosted on Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
National Archives
This site provides access to: 1,000 years of British Government records; guides to locating birth, death and marriage certificates; video guides and online exhibits.
New York Public Library Digital Collections

Open Access Research

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Open Source Software

Apereo Foundation
Apereo is a network of institutions like yours. We help to support software used in thousands of educational institutions worldwide. We have a growing list of software developed and maintained by Apereo Software Communities. We're also the place higher education software projects, new or ongoing, can find help, support and sustenance.