LibGuides: W 101: Facts, Fear, or Hope: Communicating Persuasively about Climate Change: Home

Instructor

Dr. Rebecca Homan

Talbot Hall of Biological Science - 217 / Lab 226
Email: homanr@denison.edu
Phone: 740-587-5577

Web Resources

Here are a few web sites you might find useful:

U.S. government:

NOAA - U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
NASA - U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NCEI - National Centers for Environmental Information (formerly the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC))
Climate.gov - NOAA Climate.gov provides science and information for a climate-smart nation

Foreign governments:

Met Office Hadley Centre - UK government, Met Office Hadley Centre for Climate Science and Services
Canada’s climate plans and targets - Government of Canada, Environment and Natural Resources
MoEF - Government of India, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change

International Organizations:

IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
UNEP - United Nations Environment Program

NGOs (non-governmental organizations)

UCS - Union of Concerned Scientists
CAN - The Climate Action Network (CAN)

Climate Change Skeptics

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

Catalogs

Search Summon or CONSORT for books and other materials containing information about your topic.

CONSORT logo

Databases

The databases below will be particularly useful for this Course. For other examples search the Articles tab or explore a different Subject Guide.

Try some of the Multidisciplinary Databases for more general information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Web of Science: Core collection This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic info, abstracts, & references of leading scholarly science & tech journals.
Curated with care by an expert team of in-house Web of Science™ Editors, the Web of Science Core Collection™ allows you to search with confidence and explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the Web of Science platform and the world’s original citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: General

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.

This database includes:Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), Book Citation Index (BKCI), Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1945-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.

If you need more depth try our Subject-specific Databases:

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations & full text for 1,800+ environmental journals & monographs. Keywords: environmental science, ecology
Environment Complete includes full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline. Many of the resources are unique to the database, not available in any version of Academic Search or Business Source. In addition, the database includes millions of records from thousands of domestic and international journals dating back over 100 years.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Environmental Studies

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from over 1,700 domestic and international journals, as well as over 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
BIOSIS Previews / Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more, 1926 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine

BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.

When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.

Subject keywords: Agriculture. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Botany. Ecology. Environment. Microbiology. Neurology. Pharmacology. Public health.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to Present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Clarivate
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Biology, Business, Economics, Ecology, Environmental Science, Law, Public Health, and Urban Studies.

JSTOR Sustainability covers the topics of environmental stresses and takes a broad look at the impact these stresses have on society. To learn more about this collection, visit the related tutorials here.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1987 to present
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: JSTOR
APA PsycInfo (formerly PsycINFO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Keywords: behavior, psychology
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education, Medicine

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2000 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1887 to present.

Format: Index to Journal Articles, Book Chapters, Books, and Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1887 to present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: American Psychological Association / EBSCOHost
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 600 peer-reviewed journals.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Weekly.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media

Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.

CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 200 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 300 journals.

Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
SocINDEX (Sociological Index) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes scientific journal articles, conference proceedings, books, & dissertations.
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Computer Science

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine is a resource for the history of science, technology, and medicine, and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. HSTM indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Citations reflect the contents of nearly 9,500 journals.

This database incorporates four separately created bibliographies: Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and Wellcome Bibliography of the History of Medicine.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1975-
Update Schedule: Quarterly.
Database Producer: EBSCO/History of Science Society, Society for the History of Technology, Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Trust.