"Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s. The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business."
The official site of Bureau of Indian Affairs of the U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) provides information on a variety of topics, including BIA history, a directory of tribal leaders, and links to information about Native American ancestry and genea
"The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."
"A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere."
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Since 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation. NARF has successfully asserted and defended the most important rights of Indians and tribes in hundreds of major cases, and has achieved significant results in such critical areas as tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, natural resource protection, and Indian education.
"With six separate collections on Native American history, The Library of Congress American Memory Project contains historical and cultural documents. The Native American Culture, Pacific Northwest collection contains digitized copies of documents written in several endangered Native American languages, including a bilingual version of a Coos myth text, an article on the Nez Perce Verb, and a Kalapuya text. Also includes digitized copies of reports made to the Office of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs"
A federally recognized tribe is an American Indian or Alaska Native tribal entity that is recognized as having a government-to-government relationship with the United States, with the responsibilities, powers, limitations and obligations attached to that designation, and is eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs.
As landmark cases are won for Native American communities in federal courts, we examine the native populations that once inhabited (and, in some cases, still inhabit) what is known today as the Toledo region and the state of Ohio. Read on for a brief history and coverage of some of the major nations that inhabited this region before European settlers did.
Ohio History Central is the Ohio History Connection’s online encyclopedia, a reference source for and about the people of Ohio. It covers topics related to the history, ancient peoples, archaeology, and natural history of Ohio. It is a starting point for learning about the people, places, animals, events, and culture of Ohio.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: email@example.com
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer