LibGuides: Global Health Guide: Topic Overviews

Reference Works for Global Health

Encyclopedia of Global Bioethics by Henk ten Have (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319094823
Publication Date: 2016-06-29
This work presents the first comprehensive and systematic treatment of all relevant issues and topics in contemporary global bioethics.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Norman B. Anderson (Editor)
ISBN: 0761923608
Publication Date: 2004-01-21
The Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior was designed with the overarching goal to collect together in a single resource the knowledge generated by this interdisciplinary field, highlighting the links between science and practice.
Encyclopedia of Immigrant Health by Sana Loue (Editor); Martha Sajatovic (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441956590
Publication Date: 2014-06-20
The first portion of the encyclopedia contains chapters that are approximately 25 to 40 manuscript pages in length. The second portion of the book consists of alphabetical entries that relate to the health of immigrants. The book adopts a biopsychosocial-historical approach to the topics covered in the chapters and the entries.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
ISBN: 0306477548
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by Sally Kuykendall (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610699822
Publication Date: 2018-06-08
Providing context to today's public health practices and broad coverage of topics, this book demonstrates how cross-disciplinary studies are critical to addressing current health issues.
Global Public Health by David V. McQueen (editor in chief)
ISBN: 9780190632366
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Public Health combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Historical Dictionary of the World Health Organization by Kelley Lee; Jennifer Fang
ISBN: 9780810878594
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Historical Dictionary of the World Health Organization covers the history of the WHO through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on key bodies, programs, events and people. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the World Health Organization.
The International Encyclopedia of Health Communication by Iccha Basnyat (Associate Editor); Nadine Bol (Associate Editor); Marleah Dean (Associate Editor); Evelyn Y. Ho (Editor); Carma L. Bylund (Editor); Julia C. M. Van Weert (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119678816
Publication Date: 2022-12-20
The definitive collection of topics currently being studied in the rapidly growing field of health communication. With a global and interdisciplinary focus, this timely resource addresses cutting-edge digital technology, complementary and integrative healthcare, diversity and inclusion, health equity, COVID-19, and much more.

Collections of Topic Overview Resources

The links below consist of collections of many reference resources on a wide variety of topics. As a result, you can do a search not just in a single encyclopedia, but all the encyclopedias related to a particular topic, or even all the encyclopedias in the vast collection. And, unlike Wikipedia, you'll know that the article was written by an expert on that topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Library Science

Reference Universe is an updated database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.

Find the most relevant, authoritative reference works of interest to you. The best way to use Reference Universe is to simply type your term or phrase of interest and note the works that are returned in the order of greatest number of hits. Make sure you check the link to see if your library holds the work.

Format: Index to Reference Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Updated every two weeks
Database Producer: Paratext

Global Health Guide

What About Wikipedia?

Finding Additional Topic Overview Resources in the Library

Reference Works for Global Health

Collections of Topic Overview Resources