LibGuides: Black Lives Matter: Antiracism Resources: EDUCATE

ONLINE RESOURCES

"8 Online Classes and Workshops That Help You to Examine Your Own Bias," Well and Good, 1 June 2020
"Six Principles for White Allies Seeking to Dismantle Racism and the Distinction between White Nationalism and White Supremacy," Truth and Grace
Professor, activist, and scholar Regina Shands Stoltzfus reminds us that we are in the midst of a long-term struggle to dismantle racism. The Urban Rebellions of 2020 in response to the deaths of Ahmaud Arbery, George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, and so many others witness to the ongoing reality of systemic racism. We will need all the resources we can to continue to act in anti-racist ways.
"‘Long overdue’: lawmakers declare racism a public health emergency," The Guardian, 12 June 2020
Black and Brown Americans are susceptible to higher rates of infant mortality, heart disease and even an advanced aging process
Anti-Racism for Beginners
Introduce yourself to key concepts, terminology, and areas concerning racism and the lived experiences of Black and Indigenous People of Color.
Anti-Racism Resources for White People
This document is intended to serve as a resource to white people and parents to deepen our anti-racism work. If you haven’t engaged in anti-racism work in the past, start now. Feel free to circulate this document on social media and with your friends, family, and colleagues.
Being Anti-Racist | National Museum of African American History and Culture
To create an equal society, we must commit to making unbiased choices and being antiracist in all aspects of our lives. "In a racist society, it is not enough to be non-racist, we must be anti-racist." - Angela Y. Davis
Chadwyck-Healey's Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Confronting Anti-Black Racism
PBS LearningMedia presents an overview of anti-Black racism in America. While it's designed for use in classrooms, the materials here can help anyone gain deeper insights into anti-Black racism and what they might do about it in their communities.
Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus
How can we help students understand George Floyd’s death in the context of institutionalized racism?
Racial Equity Tools
Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. This site offers tools, research, tips, curricula and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working toward justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities and the culture at large.
Reading Materials and Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)
An extensive resource list to help people become informed activists and engaged allies.

Black Women's Suffrage
These women played significant leadership roles leading up to and during the United States Women’s Suffrage Movement and beyond, yet their stories and contributions are not widely known and the critical roles Black women played at the forefront of the campaign for women’s rights are too often forgotten.

"Being African American & LGBTQ: An Introduction," Human Rights Campaign
"How to Support the Black Trans Lives Matter Movement," Cosmopolitan
"Sadly, too often when we talk about Black Lives Matter, all Black lives are not centered. That’s especially true when it comes to Black trans people, who are killed and incarcerated at disproportionate rates and don’t feel totally included and represented by the BLM movement. But as so many scholars and activists have previously said in one form or another, if your activism isn’t intersectional and doesn’t include the most at-risk communities, then you’re not fighting for true equality."
"The Impact of COVID-19 on LGBTQ Communities of Color," Human Rights Campaign
Blacklight Online
A magazine for black gays, features articles, book and album reviews.
Black Trans Advocacy Coalition
Mission: To improve the black trans human experience by overcoming violence and injustice in the world through the power, value and love of all people
Fields, Errol & Anthony Morgan. "The intersection of sociocultural factors and health-related behavior: Experiences among young Black gay and bisexual males." Pediatr Clin North Am. 2016 Dec; 63(6): 1091–1106.
"Intersectionality is a theoretical framework that suggests that multiple social identities – e.g. race, ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation – intersect at the individual or micro level of experience and reflects larger social-structural inequities experienced on the macro level. This article uses an intersectionality framework to describe how multiple stigmatized social identities can create unique challenges for Young Black gay and bisexual men (YBGBM) as an example."
National Black Justice Coalition
The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) is a civil rights organization dedicated to empowering Black lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people. NBJC’s mission is to end racism and homophobia.
Religion and Coming Out Issues for African Americans
"It is daunting to come out only to face the fear and misunderstanding of society in general, but many LGBTQ African Americans must face that same ignorance within the very institution that has for so many been the centerpiece of their community. Although no largely African-American denomination has issued a public statement outlining its position on homosexuality, the stances of individual churches and ministers are revealed on Sundays."
Why Are Asexual Characters Always White?
Generally, it’s assumed that asexuality makes up a tiny percentage of the LGBTQ community. Now imagine that small percentage of people, who do not get enough visibility as it is, and replace every possible person with a non-POC. Taking this into perspective, what the media sees is just the tip of the iceberg, and that iceberg is overwhelmingly white.
Zuna Institute: National Advocacy Organization for Black Lesbians
Zuna Institute is a National Advocacy Organization for Black Lesbians that was created to address the needs of black lesbians in the areas of Health, Public Policy, Economic Development, and Education.

The Sentencing Project
Founded in 1986, The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration.
Prison Policy Initiative
The Prison Policy Initiative’s research and advocacy is at the center of the national conversation about criminal justice reform and over-criminalization. Because essential national and state level data is often completely inaccessible, the Prison Policy Initiative’s insightful data analysis and powerful graphics help fill these gaps to bring in new supporters and help other movement leaders achieve their goals.
Kushner, Rachel. "Is Prison Necessary? Ruth Wilson Gilmore Might Change Your Mind," NYT, 17 Apr 2019
Cummings, André Douglas Pond. "All eyez on me": America's war on drugs and the prison-industrial complex. The Journal of Gender, Race, and Justice, 15(3), 417-448. (2012)
Gosselin, C. (2015). Mass incarceration: Criminal injustice and the insidious racial caste system. Peace and Freedom, 75(1), 10.
Summary of the book The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander
Critical Resistance
Critical Resistance seeks to build an international movement to end the Prison Industrial Complex by challenging the belief that caging and controlling people makes us safe.

Kwate, Naa Oyo A. and Melody S. Goodman. "Cross-Sectional and Longitudinal Effects of Racism on Mental Health Among Residents of Black Neighborhoods in New York City," Am J Public Health. 2015 April; 105(4): 711–718.
"Imperfect victims: Mental illness and police brutality," Columbia Journalism Review, 19 June 2020
"Racism as a Unique Social Determinant of Mental Health: Development of a Didactic Curriculum for Psychiatry Residents," MedEd Portal, 12 Aug 2017.
"Stigma Regarding Mental Illness Among People of Color," Policy Research Associates, 21 May 2019
"Though communities of color, because of socioeconomic challenges, may be at higher risk for poor mental health. . . stigma contributes to a reluctance to recognize the need for the help of a physician or therapist."
Black And African American Communities And Mental Health, Mental Health America
Overall, mental health conditions occur in Black and African American (B/AA) people in America at about the same or less frequency than in White Americans. However, the historical Black and African American experience in America has and continues to be characterized by trauma and violence more often than for their White counterparts and impacts emotional and mental health of both youth and adults.

Campaign Zero
We can live in a world where the police don't kill people by limiting police interventions, improving community interactions, and ensuring accountability. Website outlines actionable goals, including the demilitarization of the police.
Mapping the Police
This information has been meticulously sourced from the three largest, most comprehensive and impartial crowdsourced databases on police killings in the country: FatalEncounters.org, the U.S. Police Shootings Database and KilledbyPolice.net. We've also done extensive original research to further improve the quality and completeness of the data; searching social media, obituaries, criminal records databases, police reports and other sources to identify the race of 90 percent of all victims in the database.
Reclaim the Block
Reclaim the Block began in 2018 and organizes Minneapolis community and city council members to move money from the police department into other areas of the city’s budget that truly promote community health and safety. They organize around policies that strengthen community-led safety initiatives and reduce reliance on police departments.

Articles

Local Issues

Heal Columbus
Implement Safe Policing Policy Now.
"Out Of Control Columbus Police : 22 Instances Of Police Vs. Protestor Violence," Columbus Navigator, 22 June 2020
"Columbus City Council Holding Hearing On Demilitarizing Police," NPR 30 June 2020

AT DENISON

Black Studies Department

The interdisciplinary Black Studies Program is designed to investigate the black experience in Africa, North America, the Caribbean, Latin America, and in other parts of the African diaspora. The program draws on the expertise of faculty members in all four academic divisions of the college: humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and the fine arts. It is consistent with the liberal arts philosophy of exploring issues fundamental to the development of a broadly educated person and the creation of a humane spirit.

To view a list of Black Studies courses that Denison offers, click here.

See our Black Studies LibGuide for scholarly sources.

Denison Forward: A Forward-Thinking Diversity Strategy

Denison must reaffirm the notion that an antiracist, diverse living, learning, and working community is essential to its educational mission. We have both an opportunity and an obligation to address long-standing issues on our campus.

SOCIAL MEDIA: SOME ACCOUNTS TO FOLLOW

ARCHIVES UNBOUND DATABASES: AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES

Black economic empowerment: the National Negro Business League This link opens in a new window
Includes 15,779 images from the archives of the National Negro Business League, 1901-1928.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, U.S. History

Booker T. Washington, founder of the National Negro Business League, believed that solutions to the problem of racial discrimination were primarily economic, and that bringing African Americans into the middle class was the key. In 1900, he established the League "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro," and headed it until his death.

This collection from the Library of Congress contains 15,779 images of the papers of the League from 1901-1928.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1901 - 1928
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle This link opens in a new window
Online archive with 8,452 images from The FBI Library about The Black Liberation Army (BLA), an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, U.S. History

The database contains 8,452 images from The FBI Library about The Black Liberation Army (BLA).

The Black Liberation Army (BLA) was an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981. Composed largely of former members of the Black Panther Party (BPP), the organizations program was one of "armed struggle" and its stated goal was to "take up arms for the liberation and self-determination of black people in the United States." The BLA carried out a series of bombings, robberies (what participants termed "expropriations"), and prison breaks.

Format: Full Text
Dates of coverage: 1970-1983
Database producer: Gale
Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement This link opens in a new window
This collection of records reproduces the writings and statements of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM) and its leaders.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, U.S. History

This collection of records reproduces the writings and statements of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM) and its leaders. It also covers organizations that evolved from or were influenced by RAM and persons that had close ties to RAM. The most prominent organization that evolved from RAM was the African Peoples Party.

Organizations influenced by RAM include the Black Panther Party, League of Revolutionary Black Workers, Youth Organization for Black Unity, African Liberation Support Committee, and the Republic of New Africa.

Individuals associated with RAM and documented in this collection include Robert F. Williams, Malcolm X, Amiri Baraka, General Gordon Baker Jr., Yuri Kochiyama, Donald Freeman, James and Grace Lee Boggs, Herman Ferguson, Askia Muhammad Toure (Rolland Snellings), and Kwame Ture (Stokely Carmichael).

Format: Full Text
Dates of coverage: 1962-1999
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation This link opens in a new window
This full text collection covers the policy and debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H. W. Bush, both as President and Vice President.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Political Science, U. S. History

Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president.

Contents of this collection includes memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, statements of administration policy, case histories, legislative histories and news-clippings covering a broad range of civil rights issues.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1989-1991
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC This link opens in a new window
Contains FBI files documenting the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which Black Americans of all political persuasions were subjected.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1930-1944
Database Producer: Gale
Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
Contains US Justice Department and FBI reports on members of various protest groups who were deemed politically suspect.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.

Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports in this collection provide a wealth of detail on "Negro" radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else.

Includes 88,021 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.

Format: Full Text
Date range: 1920-1984
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945 This link opens in a new window
A collection of essential materials for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement-concerned with the issues of Lynching, Segregation, Race riots, and Employment discrimination.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1933-1945
Database Producer: Gale
Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963 This link opens in a new window
This collection includes essential materials for the study of the U.S. Civil Rights Movement at a critical moment in its history.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1963
Database Producer: Gale
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the integration of the University of Mississippi This link opens in a new window
FBI documentation on African American James Merediths battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Black Studies

This collection contains extensive FBI documentation on African American James Merediths battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

Includes 8,792 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library.

Format: Full Text
Date range: 1961-1962
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Liberation movement in Africa and African America This link opens in a new window
Contains FBI files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies, Black Studies

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.

Includes 11,513 images reproduced from the originals from the Federal Bureau of Investigation HQ Library.

Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1970-1985
Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson This link opens in a new window
The collection contains writings about and by James E. and Esther Cooper Jackson, and documents about the Southern Negro Youth Congress.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1932-2000
Database Producer: Gale
Republic of New Afrika This link opens in a new window
This collection provides documentation collected by the FBI through intelligence activities, informants, surveillance, and cooperation with local police departments.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1968-1980
Database Producer: Gale
We were prepared for the possibility of death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 This link opens in a new window
Full text documents from the FBI concerning the Freedom Riders' activities in the southern US during the early 1960's.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Political Science, U.S. History

Freedom Riders were civil rights activists that rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the United States Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia. This decision had outlawed racial segregation in the restaurants and waiting rooms in terminals serving buses that crossed state lines. Riders were arrested for trespassing, unlawful assembly, and violating state and local Jim Crow laws, along with other alleged offenses.

The database contains 4,285 images from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library from 1961.

Format: Full Text and Images
Dates of Coverage: 1961
Database Provider: Gale

BLACK-OWNED AND ORIENTED NEWS SOURCES

The Black Wall Street Times
Access is the new civil right.
ColumbusBlack
ColumbusBlack.com serves to be the primary online source of news, events, and entertainment for the Black community in Columbus, Ohio. We are focused on keeping the Black community abreast of social activities and lifestyle interests to increase community engagement.
The Crisis
The official publication of the NAACP since 1910.
Diverse: Issues in Higher Education
Covering issues of diversity in higher education since 1984.
Ebony
Since 1945, Ebony has offered commentary, perspective, and analysis on politics, culture, and the arts.
Essence
Over 50 years of lifestyle, beauty, and fashion.
NewsOne.com
News and information for and about Blacks in America.
Real Health
Health magazine for African-Americans.
The Root
Black News, Opinions, Politics and Culture
The Source
Since 1988, the Source has been the leading international voice for the ever-evolving world of Hip-Hop music, culture and politics.

NON-FICTION BOOKS

Book lists function as highlights. If you know of a book that you believe to be essential reading that is not on this list, please contact Kristen at pantlek@denison.edu.

How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi
ISBN: 9780525509288
Publication Date: 2019-08-13
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor
ISBN: 9781608465620
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander; Cornel West (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781595586438
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
Our Black Sons Matter by Davidson Hadle Yancy; Maria Davidson (Editor); Farrah Jasmine Griffin (Afterword by); Susan Hadley (Editor); George Yancy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781442269118
Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Rest in Power by Sybrina Fulton; Tracy Martin
ISBN: 9780812997231
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
How Americans Make Race by Clarissa Rile Hayward
ISBN: 9781107043893
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Unapologetic by Charlene A. Carruthers
ISBN: 9780807019412
Publication Date: 2018-08-28
The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin
ISBN: 0679601511
Publication Date: 1995-05-02
When They Call You a Terrorist by Patrisse Khan-Cullors; asha bandele; Angela Davis (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781250171085
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
ISBN: 0812993543
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo; Michael Eric Dyson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780807047415
Publication Date: 2018-06-26

The Burning House by Anders Walker
ISBN: 9780300223989
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
Frederick Douglass by David W. Blight
ISBN: 9781416590316
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Let Nobody Turn Us Around : voices of resistance, reform, and renewal : an African American anthology by Manning Marable; Leith Mullings (Editor); Molefi Asante; Amiri Baraka
ISBN: 0847699307
Publication Date: 1955-01-28
Pullman Porters and the Rise of Protest Politics in Black America, 1925-1945 by Beth Tompkins Bates
ISBN: 0807849294
Publication Date: 2001-06-18
The Souls of Black Folk by Brent Hayes Edwards (Editor); W. E. B. Du Bois
ISBN: 9780192806789
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
To Joy My Freedom: Southern Black Women's Lives and Labors after the Civil War by Tera W. Hunter
ISBN: 0674893093
Publication Date: 1997-05-20

FICTION BOOKS

Article: "How Does Fiction Reading Influence Empathy? An Experimental Investigation on the Role of Emotional Transportation"

Home by Toni Morrison
ISBN: 9780307594167
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
Hitting a Straight Lick with a Crooked Stick by Zora Neale Hurston
ISBN: 9780062915795
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
The Impeachment of Abraham Lincoln by Stephen L. Carter
ISBN: 9780307272638
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
The Nickel Boys (Winner 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) by Colson Whitehead
ISBN: 9780385537070
Publication Date: 2019-07-16
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
ISBN: 9781501126062
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Some Sing, Some Cry by Ntozake Shange; Ifa Bayeza
ISBN: 9780312198992
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates
ISBN: 9780399590597
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
We Cast a Shadow by Maurice Carlos Ruffin
ISBN: 9780525509066
Publication Date: 2019-01-29

How Long 'til Black Future Month? by N. K. Jemisin
ISBN: 9780316491341
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
The first short story collection from the widely acclaimed Jemisin (The Stone Sky, 2017) showcases a wide range of fantasy and sf united by her particular vision.

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come
A brilliant dramatization of Black life in America during the 1940s, ’50s, and ’60s. Taylor is unsparing in her depiction of the years of segregation and of the Black experience of white racism, bigotry, and injustice.
Light It Up
Following Shae’s murder, unrest mounts in her community, and protesters bearing the message that Black Lives Matter clash with white-supremacist demonstrators. . . Each voice tells of the personal impact wrought by Shae’s death, while giving readers a gut-wrenching, viscerally true portrait of the light, hope, and promise that are snuffed out whenever another young Black life is taken by police violence.
Pet
The debut title from Christopher Myers’ imprint, Make Me a World, tells the story of a Black trans girl named Jam who lives in a world without evil—or so she’s told. In the town of Lucille, monsters were overcome in a long-past revolution, so Jam is more than a little surprised when Pet, a creature her mom paints, comes to life and declares that he has come to hunt a monster—and he needs her help.
A Phoenix First Must Burn: Sixteen Stories of Black Girl Magic, Resistance, and Hope
If you’re looking for your next deep dive into sf and speculative fiction, look no further. Editor Caldwell here collects 16 stories that embrace and reimagine the histories of Black women and their resistance, hope, and liberation.