LibGuides: BIOL-356 Biostatistics: Home

Instructor

Dr. Andy McCall

Talbot Hall of Biological Science - 317/Lab 521
Email: mccalla@denison.edu
Tel: 740-587-8554

Web resources

Here are a few web sites you might find useful:

CiteSeer x
A repository of articles in Mathematics and Computer Science
RStudio cheatsheet
statistics.com
Khan Academy | Statistics and probability
Online Courses
Over 500 free online classes from the world's leading universities.
USA Facts
A data-driven portrait of the American population, the government’s finances, and government’s impact on society.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

A Dictionary of Statistics by Graham Upton; Ian Cook

Catalogs

Search Summon or CONSORT for books and other materials containing information about your topic.

CONSORT logo

Databases

The databases below will be particularly useful for this Course. For other examples search the Articles tab or explore a different Subject Guide.

Try some of the Multidisciplinary Databases for more general information.

Web of Science: Core collection This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic info, abstracts, & references of leading scholarly science & tech journals.
Curated with care by an expert team of in-house Web of Science™ Editors, the Web of Science Core Collection™ allows you to search with confidence and explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the Web of Science platform and the world’s original citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: General

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.

This database includes:Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), Book Citation Index (BKCI), Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1945-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO

If you need more depth try our Subject-specific Databases:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
16 million+ citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access and does not require authentication.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine
BIOSIS Previews / Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more, 1926 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine

BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.

When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.

Subject keywords: Agriculture. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Botany. Ecology. Environment. Microbiology. Neurology. Pharmacology. Public health.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to Present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Clarivate
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Journals, e-books and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: Biology, Business, Economics, Ecology, Environmental Science, Law, Public Health, and Urban Studies.

JSTOR Sustainability covers the topics of environmental stresses and takes a broad look at the impact these stresses have on society. To learn more about this collection, visit the related tutorials here.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1987 to present
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: JSTOR
$American Mathematical Society logo$
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present). Keywords: math, science
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Math

MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present).

Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. MR covers articles and books in applied areas that contain new mathematical results or give novel and interesting applications of known mathematics. The full text of all reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included.

Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1940-
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: American Mathematical Society.