ECON 440 Evolution of Social Policy in Britain & the U.S. (Fall 2010) - Economics - Old Course Guides - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Citation Tools

The following tools will help you organize your citations and generate bibliographies.

RefWorks - "Your Online Personal Database and Bibliography Creator" is a citation-making service, provided via OhioLINK. For information on how to use RefWorks, see the Online Tutorial.

Zotero - is an open-source tool accessible from the web. There are useful tutorials for getting starting and maximizing this resource. Zotero works on Firefox and needs to be installed on your computer.

U.S. Government Documents

American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
Rich, primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

American State Papers constitute rich primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. A retrospective republication of approximately 6280 numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials, the American State Paper volumes, issued from 1832-1861, were published in ten classes in a total of 38 folio volumes.

The classes into which the publications were assembled and printed and the number of volumes they occupy are: I: Foreign Relations in six volumes; II: Indian Affairs in two volumes; III: Finance in five volumes; IV: Commerce and Navigation in two volumes; V: Military Affairs in seven volumes; VI: Naval Affairs in four volumes; VII: Post Office Department in one volume; VIII: Public Lands in eight volumes; IX: Claims in one volume; and X: Miscellaneous in two volumes.

Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838.

Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1789-1838
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events

Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.

ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present

Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest
Serial Set - See U.S. Congressional Serials Set 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
Full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Keywords: law, bills
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History, Law, Political Science

U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1994 contains full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages. Not all congresses complete as of 2010.

Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Readex.

Other Primary Source Materials

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full text access to e-books, pamphlets, broadsides and ephemera.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

As the first draft of popular history, American imprints have preserved detailed perspectives of the culture, issues, and events shaping the nation for hundreds of years.

Where does the content come from?

The content in this database has been created through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, the Library Company of Philadelphia, and the New-York Historical Society.

What time period does it cover?

From 1535 to 1922, from the exploration of the West Indies to the codification of Jim Crow laws.

What’s in it?

America’s Historical Imprints includes over 150,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other printed material illuminating centuries of American history, literature, and culture. The core of the archive is Early American Imprints, Series I and II – derived from the collections of Charles Evans and Roger Bristol and of Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. The essential complement is Afro-Americana Imprints, which includes African History and Culture, 1540-1921, Black Authors, 1556-1922, and Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920. Also available are American Broadsides and Ephemera, American Pamphlets Series 1, 182-1922, Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera, The American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922, and The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922.

Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Everyday Life & Women in America, 1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Full text, primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history with a focus on the daily lives of women and men.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies

Everyday Life & Women in America, 1800-1920 provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history. Materials are gathered from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.

This database is comprised of thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1920
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
The digitization of nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK spanning more than one million pages brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.

The digitization of more than 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK spanning more than one million pages brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

Format: Full Text Pamphlets
Database Producer: JSTOR
Making of America (MOA) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.

Alternate URL: http://digital.library.cornell.edu/m/moa/ (Cornell)
- the Making of America is a joint project between the University of Michigan and Cornell University. Both institutions have online portals to this content.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection contains books and journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Format: Full Text Books, Full Text Journals
Database Producer: University of Michigan and Cornell University with a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, 1600-2000.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History

This database is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.

Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:

* Over 70 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 2400 documents, more than 900 images, and over 800 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
* More than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. Plans are to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually.
* A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
* A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
* Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.

Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-2000
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.

Data Sets

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data, covering a broad range of disciplines.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data, covering a broad range of disciplines including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

NOTE: To access data sets, you must provide an e-mail address. Your e-mail address is used solely to provide access to the complete array of ICPSR services and support. In all other regards the information you provide will be kept in accordance with our existing privacy policy: ICPSR does not disclose, sell or transfer personal information about our website visitors, unless required to do so for law enforcement or by statute.

Format: Data Sets, Statistical Resources
Database Producer:ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Online full text access to working papers of NBER researchers from November 1994 through the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. The NBER Working Paper database provides online full text access to working papers from November 1994 through the present.

Format: Statistical Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1994-
Database Producer: National Bureau of Economic Research.

Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the history and culture of America from prehistory to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

America: History & Life (AHL) is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

Subject keywords: History. Interdisciplinary Studies. Popular Culture. Multicultural Studies. American Studies. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Anthropology. Literature/Folklore. Sociology. Genealogy. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1964 - Present
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: EBSCO

These are databases primarily of scholarly journals and publications.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and books in business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance & economics.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content.

Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1886 to Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association, 1969- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1969-
Update Schedule: monthly
Database Producer: American Economic Association
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General, Fine Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences

Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.

U.S. Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.

Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Chronicling America: Historic American newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search newspapers from 1880-1910 & find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access, freely available to anyone, and does not require authentication.

Subject Areas: U.S. History, Mass Media, Communication

Chronicling America allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

It includes papers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia include Paris, Kentuckys The Bourbon news, Washington, D.C.s The Colored American, and DeLands own Florida Agriculturist.

Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Producer: The Library of Congress
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Advanced searching capabilities will enable researchers to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
New York Times articles, from 1851 to three years ago.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, U.S. History

Full page images of the New York Times newspaper, dating from 1851 to three years ago.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.

British Newspapers& Magazines

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to local and regional newspapers to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history.

Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1746-1950
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Economics

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
For newer issues, see Economist Current Access

Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1843 to 2020
Database Producer: Gale Publishing
Financial Times Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Online archive of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics, History, Mass Media

The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. It includes Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1888 to 2021
Database Producer: Gale
Illustrated London News Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication in 1842 to its last in 2003.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History, Political Science, International Studies

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1842-2003
Database Producer: Gale
Nineteenth-century serials edition This link opens in a new window
Collection of six full-text British 19th century newspapers and journals, 1800-1900.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Political Science, Sociology/Anthropology

Nineteenth-century serials edition is a collection of six full-text British 19th century newspapers and journals: Monthly repository (1806-1837), Unitarian chronicle (1832-1833), Northern star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English woman's journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publisher's circular (1880-1890). Digitization was a collaboration between Arts and Humanities Research Council, Birkbeck College, King's College London, Centre for Computing in the Humanities, the British Library, and Olive Software. The titles were chosen for their emphasis upon social issues, political reform, and women's rights issues.

Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Database Producer: King's College, London.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text periodical pages on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor, spanning 1800-1900. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History

The 19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive includes over 2 million full text pages on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor. Contents were selected by experts in the field; full periodical runs are included when possible.

Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1900
Database Producer: Gale/Cengage
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of early English newspapers titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: History

The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers, including 1 million full text images from newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations. Titles are included from London, British Isles, and colonies.

Format: Archival Materials, Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1604-1804
Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of The Times of London. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, History, Political Science, Theatre

The complete digital edition of The Times (London), 1785 to 2019.

Search using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

The entire weekday newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

For more coverage, see also the "Sunday Times (London), 1822-2016."

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Database Producer: Gale