These books are located in the Reference section on the first floor behind the DVD collection. If you need help locating them, ask someone at the Circulation Desk or the Research Help Desk in the Commons.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Cinema, Communication, Mass Media
Film & Television Literature Index covers the literature about television and film writing. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications. FTLI has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
archival collection of primary resources, covering vaudeville and silent movies through 2000
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Cinema, Sociology
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
You have access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Database Producer: ProQuest
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Theatre, Dance, Music, Cinema
The Performing Arts Database, formerly known as the International Index to the Performing Arts, draws its content from scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals.
Most full text records within this resource contain an abstract and selected records contain corresponding full text of the original article.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1864 to present Update Schedule: Monthly Database Producer: ProQuest
full text from a variety of journals and magazines
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Mass Media, Current Events
MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) provides full text for general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many periodicals. The database also contains full text for reference and travel books; biographies; primary source documents; and an image college of photos, maps, and flags.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
popular general-interest U.S. & Canada periodicals, 1890-1982
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Mass Media, Current Events
Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes and abstracts the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada from 1890-1982.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1890-1982 Database Producer: EBSCOhost/H.W. Wilson.
archive of American Vogue, from 1892 to the current month
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1892-present Database Producer: Proquest
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
