Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

 

Taking classes off campus or working remotely? Need help getting resources? You can chat with our reference staff from 9 am to 10 pm Monday-Friday, or 1 - 10 pm Sunday, or search our FAQ’s anytime. You can also email the Circulation Desk at circdesk@denison.edu or Reference Desk at reference@denison.edu.

W 101: A Citizen's Guide to Climate Change: Home

Climate Change

This image shows a polar bear standing on a small floating ice

Climate change: not just a problem for polar bears

(Source: http://sustyvibes.com/)

Web Resources

Here are a few web sites you might find useful:

U.S. government:
  • NOAA - U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • NASA  - U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • NCEI  - National Centers for Environmental Information (formerly the National Climatic Data Center (NCDC))
  • Climate.gov - NOAA Climate.gov provides science and information for a climate-smart nation

 

Foreign governments:
  • Met Office Hadley Centre - UK government, Met Office Hadley Centre for Climate Science and Services 
  • China Climate Change Info-Net - Official climate change information portal of Chinese government
  • MoEF - Government of India, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
 
International Organizations:
  • IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
  • UNEP - United Nations Environment Program
 
NGOs (non-governmental organizations)
  • UCS - Union of Concerned Scientists
  • CAN - The Climate Action Network (CAN)
 
Climate Change Skeptics

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Catalogs

Search Summon or CONSORT for books and other materials containing information about your topic.

 

Search Summon for articles, books, & more

 

 

CONSORT logo 

 

 

Databases

The databases below will be particularly useful for this Course. For other examples search the Articles tab or explore a different Subject Guide.

Try some of the Multidisciplinary Databases for more general information.

If you need more depth try our Subject-specific Databases:

Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer