Mathematics Guide

The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references. Its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds and interests. This fascinating, useful book draws connections to other areas of mathematics and science and demonstrates its actual implementation - providing a highly readable, distinctive text diverging from the all-too-frequent specialized jargon and dry, formal exposition. Through its thousands of explicit examples, formulas, and derivations, The CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics gives the reader a flavor of the subject without getting lost in minutiae - stimulating his or her thirst for additional information and exploration. This book serves as handbook, dictionary, and encyclopedia - extensively cross-linked and cross-referenced, not only to other related entries, but also to resources on the Internet. Standard mathematical references, combined with a few popular ones, are also given at the end of most entries, providing a resource for more reading and exploration.

The most up-to-date dictionary of its kind, this authoritative reference tool covers a broad range of statistical terms in a clear and jargon-free style. Written by authorities in the field, this dictionary will provide concise definitions of all the terms likely to be encountered by studentsof statistics, and anyone who comes into contact with statistical terms will find this dictionary an indispensable source of reference.

A revised edition presenting easy-to-grasp mathematics fundamentals. It progresses in logical stages from algebra and geometry through to such advanced topics as Laplace transforms and numerical methods. Its pages are laid out in facing spreads to present each mathematical topic in a complete conceptual as well as visual unit, aiming to provide all of the mathematical essentials to help engineers, technicians, and other technical specialists solve problems on the job.

Among the topics covered are: Analytic geometry, Beltrami-Klein model, Cantor set, Ellipse, Geographical Information Systems (GIS), Hyperbolic cosine, Kepler-Poinsot solids, Mystic hexagram theorum, Obtuse Angle, Pascal's Triangle, Quadratic surface. Biographies include: Fillipo Brunelleschi (1377-1446), Shiing-Shen Chern (1911-present), Rene Descartes (1596-1650), M. C. Escher (1898-1970), Fibonacci (1180-1240), Hippocrates of Chios (ca. 460-380 BCE), Emmy Noether (1882-1935), Blaise Pascal (1623-1662), Marjorie Senechal (1939-present), Zu Chongzhi (ca. 429-500). Tables, charts, and diagrams include: Antiprism, Conic sections, Curvalinear figures and solids, Fano Configuration, Golden spiral, Greek alphabet, Polygons, Tangent, Trigonometric functions, Trigonometic tables.

The History of Modern Science and Mathematics is an innovative, multi-volume encyclopedia for students high school level and above. Organized topically around the various disciplines of science and mathematics -- from algebra, anthropology and astronomy to paleontology, physics and trigonometry -- this comprehensive reference takes readers through revolutions scientific and industrial, outward to the far limits of space and inward to the tiniest particles. Sidebar features and explanatory illustrations and historical photographs expand and contextualize the encyclopedia-style entries. Also includes an interdisciplinary timeline, a bibliography and subject index.

The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics takes in all branches of pure and applied mathematics, from algebra to mechanics and from number theory to statistics. Invaluable for students at all levels, it is also a useful and versatile source book for economists, business people, engineers, technicians and scientists of all kinds who use mathematics in the course of their work.