LibGuides: Physics & Astronomy Guide: Books/Theses

Catalogs

Search Summon, CONSORT and OhioLINK for books and other materials containing information about your topic. Requested items within those catalogs will be delivered to the Circulation desk in 3-5 days. If you cannot find what you need on those catalogs, try WorldCat (but remember that you will need to fill an Interlibrary Loan form when requesting from WorldCat).

CONSORT logo

OhioLINK logo

SearchOhio logo

Catalogs explained

Right click on the image and click "View Image" to see the details.

Google books

E-Book Collections

Many of the books in CONSORT are available online, but you can search for additional ones browsing the individual collections:

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
An integrated full-text and abstract database for science journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series.
On Campus access only.

Subject Areas: Science, business

SpringerLink is an integrated full-text and abstract database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,635 fully peer-reviewed journals and 46,083 books online.

Format: Full Text Books and Journals
Database Producer: Springer
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences. Open padlock icon indicates full text access.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Science, General

This multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources published by John Wiley covers life, health and physical sciences. This collection indicates full text access by an open padlock icon.

Wiley Online Library includes scientific, technical, medical and professional journals as well as books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. In addition, all Blackwell Synergy electronic journals and backfiles have been merged into the Wiley InterScience collection.

Format: Ebooks and E-journals
Database Producer: Wiley
O'Reilly Safari Tech Books This link opens in a new window
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields.
Sign in using your Denison login.
Electronic Book Center This link opens in a new window
Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your name and barcode (the back of your ID)

Subject Areas: Humanities, Science, Social Science

The Electronic Book Center contains thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The Electronic Center contains electronic books purchased by Ohio academic libraries from these publishers: ABC-CLIO, Gale, Oxford University Press, Sage, Springer, Wiley, Chadwyck-Healey, Oxford Scholarship Online, . Please note, some new ebooks are only added to the new platform .

Format: full text books
Database producer: varies
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses, including both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Use your Denison ID.

Subject Areas: Humanities, Social Sciences, Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion.

Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses.

Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.

Partner presses with selected content available on the Oxford Scholarship Online platform include: University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, NYU Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press, up till 2023.

Format: Full Text Books
Coverage: 1990 - Present
Database Producer: Oxford University Press.
De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks from University Presses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All

De Gruyter Online hass access to
- Berghahn Books (up to current)
- Columbia University Press (up to current)
- Cornell University Press (2018 only)
- Harvard University Press (up to current)
- Lynne Rienner Press (up to current)
- Princeton University Press (up to 2023)
- Rutgers University Press (up to 2022)
- Stanford University Press (up to current)
- University of California (up to current)
- University of Chicago (up to current)
- University of Hawaii Press (up to current)
- University of Pennsylvania Press (up to current)
- University of Texas Press (up to current)
- University of Toronto Press (up to current)
- Yale University Press (up to current)

Additionally, they provide open access eBooks from various academic publishers.

Format: Full text ebooks
Dates of Coverage: 1650-current
Update Schedule: irregular
Database Producer: De Gruyter
Proquest Ebook Central (previously known as ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Collection of thousands of e-books on a wide range of academic subjects.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Ebrary, now known as Ebook Central, is a collection of e-books on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles with new titles added on an annual basis.

Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest.

To learn more about this database, view the ProQuest training videos and the Ebook Central LibGuide as well.

Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Proquest
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.

Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

Format: Index and full text to Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1861-
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: ProQuest.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations: ETD Center (formerly Dissertations and Theses, OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.

The OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD Center) is a free online database of masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.

Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 2000-
Database Producer: Various Ohio universities.

DART Europe E-Theses Portal
European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations.
Shodhganga - Indian ETD Repository
Platform for Indian research students to deposit their Ph.D. theses.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>

Physics & Astronomy Guide

Catalogs

Catalogs explained

Google books

E-Book Collections

Dissertations and Theses

Directory of Open Access Books